Books

Book Review: You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour and David Levithan

Hey Guys!

Today I am taking a step towards one of my new years resolutions, to read more diversely It is time for another book review and this time, it is the turn of You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour and David Levithan. Lets do this shiz!

wp-image-1454115333jpg.jpeg

Oh my god, I was not expecting to love this book as much as I did. It was so unexpectedly good. This wasn’t your standard love story. I will admit, I was expecting it to be very straight forward and ‘Oh look, aren’t they an adorable couple!’ (that sounds really sarcastic, it isn’t), but in reality it is this beautiful, deep book with so much love woven throughout it. Not just romantic love, but the love between friends, family, strangers! It is just wonderful. I loved every second of this book.

The storylines where so interesting and imaginative There are so many twists and turns in this story. So much happened in this book. I don’t think that there was boring minute. I loved the way the story was told. So much happened during this book it’s hard to believe that everything takes place in the space of just one week. But it does. Sometimes books set over such a short time span feel rushed and weird and distorted, this didn’t It felt very genuine.

You always hear about whirlwind romances, but never whirlwind friendships. But my god, they are so much better. I need a Katie/Mark friendship in my life. I just loved the characters in this book. Everyone just felt so fucking real. I think Kate was brilliant. She really embodied what every teenager feels at some point when faced with the end of school. Her anxiety and worries where just so human. But I also loved her honesty about it all. Particularly how she embraced and dealt with it. I also loved her relationship with Violet. I think they are absolutely adorable together and perfect for each other. I really wish there was more about them. I am itching for more. But I also loved her friendship with Mark. I don’t know what it was about them, but they just worked. They are literally the perfect friends. I think we all dream of meeting a person that you can instantly just fall into friendship with. That you can just click with. The authors in this book wrote this so well. I will admit that I am a little bit divided about the whole Mark/Ryan thing. I’m not sure how I feel about it.

But what I loved most about this book was the messages woven through it. The ideas of acceptance and sexuality. About finding yourself, and knowing when to put yourself first. I just really love the fact that a book that I assumed was going to be light and fluffy was actually so deep and meaningful. I think that it was just such a brilliant read. This is honestly such a good read. I do kind of wish that I had done a little bit of research about it and read it during the summer, considering it is set then, during Pride week. But I am so glad that I have read this.

star 55 out of 5

I am so in love with this book. I think that everyone should read. I have only just finished it and I already want more of these characters. They where just so brilliant. Have you read this book? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

