Books

Book Review: Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

Hey Guys!

Happy Sunday! I hope your all having a great day! Since it is the weekend it is, of course, time for another book review. Today it is all about Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven.

I am a little bit conflicted about this book. I really enjoyed it, but, I was a little uncomfortable with it at times. In true Niven style, there where some very important topics in this book. It deals with issues regarding weight and body image, how we perceive other people and an element of neurological disorders, but there were times when I wasn’t sold on how this was done. This book got a lot of hate before it was released, based purely on the synopsis, which is something I really wish people wouldn’t do, and I don’t personally think that it deserved this, but, I do feel as if something’s could have been handled slightly differently. I don’t know. I just feel that at times people could find elements of this book offence.

All that being said, it is a very good book. It is interesting and isn’t really like anything I have ever read before. It is very unusual. Niven is big on taking topics that aren’t generally covered in mainstream literature and bringing them to our attention. I think she does this very well in this one, I just found a few moments very uncomfortable in the way they where done. Generally the book was very inventive and nice. It was nice to see a character that is comfortable with who they are. Who isn’t constantly obsessing about their weight, but kind of just, embracing it. I think Libby as a person is a brilliant example of embracing who you are and not letting other people bring you down. I also liked Jack and the concept that actually, although he is socially accepted and what society deems attractive and popular, he isn’t comfortable in himself and wishes he was different. I like that Niven flipped things on their head. I also quiet liked their relationship, but I do feel that a times it felt a bit forced and, I don’t know. I just wasn’t sold on it.

What got to me was the way in which the issues where portrayed at times. For instance Jack sees himself as broken and alone, and believes that those around him wouldn’t accept/understand if they knew what was going on with him. He very self centred about it and I just feel as if people with prosopagnosia could be offended by this portrayal of the illness. I don’t know. It just didn’t sit right with me at times.

Generally speaking I think this book was pretty good. It raised a lot of interesting topics and explored issues that I haven’t seen in a book before, I just think that it could have been better. I definitely didn’t love this one as much as Niven’s first book.

star 3.53.5 out of 5

and there we have it. Have you read this one yet? What did you think about it? I really don’t know how I feel about it. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

