Books

Book Review: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Hey Guys!

It’s book review time! Today it is time for a book that I have been meaning to read for about two years now. It is finally time for The Maze Runner by James Dashner. Here we go.

wp-image-1497800871jpg.jpeg

Why oh why have I put off reading this so long. This book was just so good. It reminded me really strongly of the Hunger Games at times but also with major Divergent vibes and just, omg I loved it. I can see why some people really dislike it, but I loved it. This story is so exciting.

There is so much going on in this book. There is danger and adventure, mystery and friendship. Just everything you could ever want in a book. What I loved most about this book was the fact that you discovered what was going on as Thomas did. You learnt along side him. I really like this in books. Particularly in dystopian novels. I also loved that there was always something going on. There wasn’t a single time that I was bored while reading this one. I listened to the audiobook version of it and I would have been listening to it for like three hours, and only feel like I had been for like 10 mins. I really liked this. I was just so gripped and so entertained.

I loved the storyline in this book. It was very clever and gripping, it held everything that a dystopian novel should. It was brilliant. What I loved most about it was that you never really knew what was going to happen to next. I just didn’t know what the next twist was going to be. You only really discovered what was going on at what time, when Thomas did. I really did love this.

I also loved the characters. I thought that Thomas was a very interesting character. I am really intrigued to know his background. He is very smart and resourceful, he’s determined and brave, but I feel as if there is a lot more too him that we don’t know yet, that he doesn’t I am really interested to see what we learn about him in the rest of the trilogy. The same goes for Teresa. At this moment in time, I do not trust her, but I want to. I really want to see what Scorch Trials is to reveal about them. But on the other hand, I absolutely love Newt. I don’t know why, but there is something about him that really appeals to me. I think that he is a brilliant secondary character and I cannot wait to see more of him in the next book. The same goes for Minho. And don’t even get me started on Chuck.

Overall I really liked this book. There where a few times when bits seemed pretty obvious and I personally didn’t love the ending. I think it would have been better is it ended slightly earlier. I don’t know. I know Dashner was setting it up for the next book, but I didn’t love it. If you liked the Hunger Games or Divergent, I think that you will love this.

4.5 out of 5

I really don’t know why I put off reading this for so long. It was very good and honestly such a brilliant start to the year. I really enjoyed it. I now cannot wait to FINALLY watch the film lol. Have you read this one? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

  1. Hello! 🙂

    I can totally relate to you, I got this book for Christmas 2015, so it was basically waiting more than a year for me to pick it up and read it – and I still haven’t read it! There were so many other books in 2016 that I completely forgot about it, and then I watched the first movie and really wanted to read it, but somehow, I never did.
    But this review made me want to read it again, maybe even this month! Thanks for the motivation! 🙂

    Amy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

