Books

Book Review: Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them Screenplay by J K Rowling

Hey Guys!

Welcome to my first book review of 2017! Its good to be back. I am kicking off the year the way that I mean to go one, with a truly epic read. Yep, that’s right, today it is all about Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them Screenplay by J K Rowling. Lets do this shit.

wp-image-492289602jpg.jpeg

I am going to start by clarifying that I have already seen the film of this one. I watched it pretty much as soon as it came out, within the first week I believe, so obviously, I knew what the story was from the off. But even knowing exactly what was going to happen and when, I still really enjoyed the screenplay. Throughout it I was picking up on little details that I missed when watching the film and remembering things that I had forgotten I will admit that it took me a while to get my head around how to read a screenplay. I generally don’t read plays and the likes, in fact the last play that I did read was Cursed Child. But once I got back into the play mindset, it was nice.

Obviously being a screenplay and not an actual book there isn’t a whole ton of description in here. There is mainly scene setting, not too much in the way of character description, so I would recommend maybe watching the film before reading this, or at least looking up some stills from it. That way you will be able to picture the characters far more clearly. But because of this format you can get through it pretty quickly. It is incredible easy to read, once you get your head around the format.

I loved this story and I honestly cannot wait until 2018 when the next film, and hopefully book, comes out. This story was so brilliant. It was fun, fast paced, beautiful, magical and, actually, pretty funny at times. I loved every second of it. I also really love the characters. I have never really thought much about Newt before but after watching the film and reading the book I am honestly a little bit in love with him. I can see why J K decided to do a series focused on him.

Generally I did really enjoy this. It didn’t hold the same sort of magic that the original Potter books do, but it was still enjoyable. I would have preferred it if J K had written this as an actual book, but I can understand why she did it the way that she did. I can still hold out hope that one of these days she will release another actual novel.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

and there we have it. My first review of the year. I am interested to know what you thought about this one. I loved the story. The film was amazing, I just really wish that there was a proper novel for it. How do you feel about it? Have you read/watched it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

