Books

Book Review: I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Hey Guys!

It’s time for another book review. And since Christmas is over and done with, we are back too normal, non-christmas books. So, I am kicking off being back to normal, and closing the year, with a truly incredible book. Today it is all about I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson.

wp-image-676641648jpg.jpeg

What an absolutely brilliant book. I was stunned by how much I loved this book. It was beautiful and funny and completely devastating I honestly cant tell you how much I loved this book. There was so much emotion in it. So much love and so much pain. One second I was laughing, the next I was crying. This story was just so incredible and it was so beautifully written.

I loved every single character in this book. I think everyone just had so much depth and background to them. And I also loved that everyone and everything was connected. It just worked so well. I loved Noah and Jude, I think that they are up there with my favourite fictional siblings. They where sweet and funny, smart and creative, loving and broken. I loved the parallels in them, and how throughout the book they switched. I loved both of their quirks. Noah’s mind painting and Jude’s Bible. I also loved their relationships With each other and others. I loved their parents and Oscar, Brian and Guillermo. Just everything. I think they all worked so well with each other.

And I loved the storyline. I love how it looped around. It came full circle. Everything was intertwined and connected. It just worked so well. I also love the way in which this story was told. I loved the different perspectives. And I loved that the different perspectives, where from different times. I have only ever come across that in one other book. It just works so well. You learnt the story in a very, round about way, but it just worked so perfectly. It really helped to highlight how everything in this book are connected. It isn’t a straight line, its a curly, weaving, winding circle. I just loved this.

I knew when I picked this book up that it would be sad. I knew a little bit about this book and knew that it was going to be hard to read, that it contained a lot of heartbreak and hardship and would most likely reduce me to tears (it did). What I wasn’t expecting was for it to be so funny. There where several times when I had to stop reading because I was laughing so much. I think the line ‘I was having a penis panic attack’ is one of the funniest things that I have ever read. It was just fucking hilarious I am so glad that I finally decided to read this book and I honestly cannot wait for Jandy Nelson to release something else.

star 55 out of 5

I have been slowly listening to this book throughout December and you have no idea how much restraint it took to not just listen to this and just just completely ignore Christmas books. It was that good. I loved every second of it. Have you read this gem? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again in 2017.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

