Christmas · Life

My Childhood Christmases

Hey Guys!

Welcome to day 22! today I wanted to do a chatty post. I don’t so these very often but I thought since it is blogmas, this is the perfect time to do one. And this is actually a post that I wanted to do last year, but didn’t get around to doing. So, here we are. Today I wanted to talk to you all about my childhood Christmases

IMG_8812

As you all know I love Christmas I am always so excitable about it and I always have been. I am pretty sure that most of this love for the season stems from my mother. She is the biggest kid when it comes to Christmas We are talking about a woman who still low key believes in Santa

Growing up with a mum like this was bound to rub off on me. She always made Christmas as magical as she could. She took me and my sister to see Santa every single year, took us to pantomimes, Christmas markets, to see decorations and that’s just the start of it. She would always get us to help decorate the house. I have fond memories of me and my sister bickering over who got to set up the nativity scene and who’s year it was to put the star on the top of the tree. Every bloody year. Lol. She would bake Christmas treats with us and get us to do Christmas themed crafts. Everything she could think off the get us in the spirit.

But it wasn’t just that she would get us involved. She made Santa real for us. She went above and beyond every year. Not just taking a bite out of a mince is left for him, or a carrot for Rudolph, but other little touches. She would knock coals out of the firs place, to make it look like someone had stepped out of it. One year she made ‘snowy’ boot prints down the hallway, another sprinkled ‘snow’ all over the fireplace. Lots of little things that always made Christmas so magical for us. And she never actually told us that Santa wasn’t real. She let us come to it naturally, when we were ready. She never killed Santa for us.

I only have fond memories about Christmas Our Christmas dinners (that we have on Christmas eve), playing with my sister Christmas afternoon, having to be convinced by my parents to eat something on Christmas morning (they usually managed to convince me to eat a biscuit lol), opening my stocking on the end of their bed. Everything. Christmas had always meant a lot to me. It has always been a time for family and happiness. Still to this day I love Christmas, not for the gifts or the food or parties or any of that stuff, but for the good times with my family and friends.

And that’s really all I have to say. This has been super chatty and informal but I hope that your enjoyed learning a little bit more about me. I am going to go now, and argue with my dad over what time I am allowed to wake people up on the day (yes, this still happens regardless of the fact I’m 20 and my sister is nearly 24) lol. I will see you all again tomorrow.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “My Childhood Christmases

Leave a Reply

