Books · Christmas

Book Review: A Boy Called Christmas by Matt Haig

Hey Guys!

Welcome to day 18 of the Blogmas! There’s only a week to go! I am getting so excited. Anyway, since it is Sunday it is time for another book review. Today it is the turn of a new Christmas classic, so, here is my review for A Boy Called Christmas, by Matt Haig.

wp-image-1520398500jpg.jpeg

This is such a sweet story. I feel like this is one of those books that every single child should read. I really wish that Matt Haig had been around when I was a child. This book was just so magical it was lovely. Despite the fact that it is aimed at ages 6 and up, even at age 20, I was still dragged into this story. It was just brilliant. It had the same timeless feel that the Harry Potter books have and I honestly think people of any age would love it. It made me feel like a child again.

The characters in this book are so amazingly written. There is very little description given about most of the characters, and yet you are still able to picture them really clearly. And everyone is just so easy to connect with, if that makes sense. You feel like you know Nikolas, you understand him. The same goes with all the characters. I found myself really embracing these characters that Haig has created. It is just so easy to love them. What with the never faltering kindness of Nikolas, the adorableness of Mika, the cheek of Blitzen and the whole spectrum of personalities from the elves, there is a character for everyone in this book.

There where so many lovely moments in this book, some sad, some happy, some funny and some just plain inspirational. It was amazing. And what makes this book even better is that it has a lot of very important messages in it, especially for children. Such as anything is possible if you believe it is or that family is more important then money. There where just lots of very good life lessons scattered throughout this gem of a book.

If you are looking for an incredible book to read your children this Christmas, or you just want to relieve your childhood Christmases, this is the book for you. It is honestly incredible and I cannot wait to read the sequel

star 55 out of 5

and there we have it. I honestly haven’t seen a single bad review fir this book. It really is a new festive classic, there is no other way to put it. I know that when I have children, they will have this one read to them at Christmas I am now going to go out and buy a copy of this book for ever child that I know, so I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again tomorrow.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Boy Called Christmas by Matt Haig

    1. Honestly, I stumbled across this one by accident, through the squeal (I work in a book shop and when ‘The Girl Who Saved Christmas’ came in I thought it sounded interesting) and I am so glad that I decided to give it a try, it really is incredible. I actually think that it might be my favourite Christmasy read of the year x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

