Books · Christmas

Book Review: The Twelve Days Of Dash And Lily by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Hey Guys!

 

It’s day 17!!! And its also Saturday! So you know what that means, Christmas book review!!!! yay! Let’s do this shit!….that was a bit aggressive, sorry lol. Anyway, today it is all about a sequel, a sequel to a book I only read last week lol. Yep, I am talking ‘The Twelve Days Of Dash And Lily’ by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan.

2016-12-11-22.43.15.png.png

Now I am going to be completely honest with you here, I really wasn’t sure about this book. I absolutely adored the ‘Dash And Lily’s Book Of Dares’ so I naturally couldn’t wait to read the sequel, but I really struggled to get into this to begin with. For the first maybe 70 pages, I hated it. I just couldn’t get into it. Everything was so negative and unfestive. I didn’t like it. But, then, in the space of like one page, I was suddenly dragged into the story, and by the end of it, I loved it nearly as much as the first book. I think that the reason why I disliked it so much at the start is purely because of how different it felt to the first book, but as soon as it started to feel similar, I fell in love with it again.

I think the biggest difference between this book and the first was the characters attitudes towards Christmas It was almost as if they had switched personalities. Where Lily was super Christmas orientated, she now couldn’t really give a damn. And where Dash used to be really cynical about the whole thing, he is now embracing it all. It was just such a drastic shift in things that it took me a while to get my head around it. These familiar characters, that I already knew so well, where suddenly like strangers. But once I got the feel for their altered personalities, I started to really enjoy the book.

It was such an interesting rout that the authors decided to take with this sequel. By turning everything we knew on its head, it really left you stunned and wanting to know what was going to happen in the end. I will admit, it wasn’t the most festive book. It got better as the story progressed, I just wish that it had had a slightly more festive feel to it, but I liked it anyway.

I think what I would like most of all, is a Dash and Lily story, that isn’t set at Christmas I want to see them during the summer, or spring. Even at Easter, whenever. I think that was what let this book down/ it was trying to hard to have the same feel as the first book. It was set over the exact same time frame. And essentially followed the same story. One getting the other into the Christmas spirit, while falling for each other. I would just like to see the pair at some time other then Christmas

star 44 out of 5

I liked this book, but I didn’t love it. I really want to know what you think of this one. Have you read it? Did you like it? I have read some very conflicted reviews for this one, people either love it or hate it. There doesn’t seem to be many like me, indecisive Anyway, I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again tomorrow

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

