Books · Christmas

Book Review: Dash And Lily’s Book Of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Hey Guys!

It’s day 11! I almost cant believe that we have made it this far. I am pretty proud of myself lol. Anyway, since it is the weekend, it is once again time for another Christmasy book review. Today it is the turn of a book that I have wanted to read for a couple of years now, and that is ‘Dash And Lily’s Book Of Dares’ by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan.

2016-12-10-21.34.35.png.png

I loved this book, like really love it. It was just so brilliant. I loved every second of it. It was honestly such a good book. It had everything I could possibly want. Romance, humour, books, drama and Christmas What more do you need in a book? As always with books, all I knew about this one was what it said on the back, and I have never read anything by the authors before (I stand corrected, I have just checked and Levithan wrote a story in My True Love Gave To Me, so I have read a little by him, but defo nothing by Cohn),so I really wasn’t sure what to expect when I picked this one up, but honestly, I am so glad that I did.

The story line in this book is so interesting To watch two people slowly fall for each other, without meeting, from both of their perspectives is just fascinating. It was so interesting to read. The way this book is written is just brilliant, I loved it. It meant that there was never a dull moment in it. But I also loved how Dash and Lily both start the book in very similar circumstances, but feel very different about them. Both 16, both bookish, both home alone at Christmas, both kind of outsiders, but one very happy about all this, the other not. I think that this was such a clever way of writing this story as it meant that we got to see each characters characteristics and traits straight from the off. We instantly had an insight into each of them.

I also was not expecting this book to be as funny as it was. Several times I found myself sitting their trying not to giggle in public. What with flying babies, pervy Santa’s, The Joys Of Gay Sex, and Bommer in general, there was constantly a source of giggles. I honestly did not think that this book would be so humour when I downloaded it, but my god is it funny at times. Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t a comedy book, but it did have a lot of seriously funny moments.

But what really made this book where the characters. I loved Dash and Lily. I loved their personalities, their love of books, their flirting, just everything I loved how much Lily grew during this book. Considering that it is set over just two weeks, Lily changes so much as a person. At the start of the book she is a bit lost. She doesn’t really know who she is, she is constantly smothered by her over protective family, she is isolated and shy, and honestly, I think a bit sad. But throughout this story she slowly finds herself. She realises that she needs to take control of her life, that she has essentially been shutting herself off from people and that she is in control. You watch her start having adventures, making friends, growing confident and accepting who she is. She has amazing character progression for such a short time span. I also loved Dash, although I don’t feel like he changed all that much throughout this book, maybe came a little more open, but I just loved him for his sarcasm and quick wit. It really made this story. And it made them the perfect couple. They just compliment each other so perfectly.

I think the reason why this book works so well is because you end up really rooting for Dash and Lily. You want them to meet. You want them to date. You want them to be together. The way that it is written really does leave you feeling like you know them both. Like they are friends of yours. I was honestly really cheering them on by the end of it. I so wanted them together. I just think that they work so well and are so adorable. I don’t know how anyone could not like them.

And the fact that this book is not only set at Christmas but in New York as well is just perfect. It leaves you yearning to visit the places they went and experience what they did, but it also puts you in a seriously Christmasy mood. Lily really rubs off on you and not even Dash’s snarly-ness can tarnish that feeling. This book is well worth a read and I honestly want to see so much more of this pair. I think that they are just so damn cute, I love them.

star 55 out of 5

I honestly loved this book so much and I think that you should all give it a go. It is sweet and funny and so Christmasy I seriously couldn’t put it down, I read it in a matter of hours. Have you read this one? Have you read the sequel? I would love to know what you think of either. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again tomorrow.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

