Books · Christmas

Book Review: What Light by Jay Asher

Hey Guys!

Welcome to day 10 of Blogmas! Anyone else getting super excited? Before I get onto today’s post, I just need to make a little announcement of sorts. Next weeks posts may be a bit up in the air. I injured my right hand a couple of days a go and I am now stuck in a spilt/brace thing for a while, so obviously, I cant hold anything in my right hand (I’m right-handed as well), so bear with a little, I need to rethink next weeks posts a bit. But lets move on. Since it is Saturday it is time for a book review. This week I am talking about What Light by Jay Asher.

I loved this book. It was so sweet and festive. I really liked it. I will be honest, the first time I saw this book, I really wasn’t sure if I would like it, but I decided to take a chance on it, mainly because the e-book dropped down to 99p lol. And you know what, I am so glad that I am. I liked it so much that I have already gone out and brought a physical copy of this book.

This book had everything that you could possibly want in a Christmas book. You’ve got an adorable family, loveable friends, a cute guy and a Christmas tree farm. It is as festive as it sounds. It has really made me want to go a buy our tree early and put it up. It is just such a festive book. I really liked the storylines. I think that everything worked very well.

I also loved the characters. I think that Sierra and Caleb are absolutely adorable. They are such a cute couple and honestly bring out the best in each other. Both are so selfless and smart, caring and funny and honestly, a little lost. They complement each other perfectly. But I also love a lot of the secondary characters. I love Heather, I think she is really funny, I like Devon, and very funny. This couple offer some brilliant comic relief in the story. I think that all the characters in this book are really three dimensional and honest. At times I really wished that this book was longer so that I could see more of the characters, particularly ones like Abbey

Overall I did really like this one. There where a couple of things that I didn’t like, for instance the fact that you never learn if the lot has been saved. It just niggling at me a little, but apart from that, I enjoyed it. This is a really nice festive read, and because it is only about 300 pages, it is a quick read. You could get through this in an afternoon. I loved it, I didn’t want to put it down.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

honestly, if you don’t have much free time, but that you want to read a festive book, go for this one. It is super festive, really gripping and quick to read. I loved it. I just couldn’t put it down. And if you don’t want to actively read it, try buying the e-book, then buying Audible narration for it as well. It is a cheap way to get audiobooks. And that’s it for today’s post. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again tomorrow

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

