Books · Christmas

Book Review: My True Love Gave To Me by Various (Edited by Stephanie Perkins)

Hey Guys!

It’s day 4 of Blogmas! And time for another Christmasy book review. Today it is all about My True Love Gave To Me by Various (Edited by Stephanie Perkins). This isn’t actually I new read for me, but a re-read. I read this beautiful anthology this time last year, but for some strange reason, I never wrote a review for it. So since I have just re-read it anyway, I thought that I would correct that injustice, so here we go. I am going to do this in my usual anthology way. An overall sum up review and then a small mini review for each of the stories.

wp-image-378664194jpg.jpeg

I love this book. Like, really love it. This was the first ever Christmas book that I read and it is the book that made me realise that Christmas themed books are amazing. Each story in this book in a love story and all of them are set around the festive period. Most of them at Christmas, but a couple of them are set a little bit latter at new years. What I love about this anthology is all the stories are very different. You have myth based stories, a story about a elf, an adorable gay couple, a story set on a little island and honestly, the most believable couple ever. This book has so much. No two stories are the same. While reading this book I feel in love over and over again. I will admit, a couple of the stories where a little weird, but that is always the case with anthologies. If you are only going to read one book this Christmas, make it this one. It is so sweet, so lovely and so damn festive. I love it.

star 55 out of 5

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell

This is a really sweet story. It is set over a few different new years eve’s, as you follow a couple who are clearly perfect for each other and want to be together, as they come to that realisation themselves. This is a really nice story and a very good one for the book to open on. I will admit at first I was a bit annoyed by the couple but that soon changed and I soon grew to love them. This was just a really sweet story, although I do personally prefer the ones actually set at Christmas

star 4.54.5 out of 5

The Lady And The Fox by Kelly Link

Okay, I openly admit that this one was weird as hell. I literally had no idea what the hell was going on lol. This particular story seemed really quiet sweet to begin with, but then it started to get very weird and confusing. It didn’t feel particularly romantic, it was fairly festive though. I just really don’t know what to think about this story.

star 1.51.5 out of 5

Angels In The Snow by Matt De La Pena

I really liked this story, although I know several people who didn’t It would have been better if it was longer, but I still really liked it and thought that it worked well. It was just very sweet and felt really genuine. I quiet liked Shy and Haley. I thought that they where a very sweet couple and I really liked them. I mean, it was a little bit weird, but still very enjoyable. It also wasn’t the most festive feeling, but I liked it anyway.

star 44 out of 5

Polaris Is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han

I am vary torn over this particular story. It was very weird but I still think that I liked it. It was different. You follow Natty, the adopted daughter of Santa Clause as she tries to figure out where she belongs in the North Pole. As the only human in a world of Elves life isn’t easy for her. You kind of follow her as she address her feelings for a guy/elf that she likes and prepares for Christmas I know a few people that really don’t get this one, but I liked it. Yes it was weird, but you cant help but feel Christmasy when reading it.

star 44 out of 5

It’s A Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins

This is my favourite story in this book! I love love love North and Marigold. They are the most real and genuine couple. I really a full book of these two. This story if just brilliant. It is sweet and loving and super festive. I really like it. Although it is set over only a matter of hours, everything in it feels so real and genuine. I love it. I think this is the one that made me feel the most festive. As soon as I read this one I instantly wanted to reread it. It proves how much I love this couple, they are also my favourite from the summer version of this book. They are just perfect.

star 55 out of 5

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan

welcome to the only story in this book with a pre-existing couple in it. This is literally the only one that starts with the characters already together It is also the one with the least focus on them as a couple. You follow ‘Santa’ (I don’t think you ever learn his name) as he surprises his boyfriend Connors little sister dressed as Santa. This is such a sweet little story. It isn’t focused on the boys as a couple but just on the idea of Christmas and that kids should believe in the Santa and the magic of Christmas I loved this one, it was just so sweet.

star 44 out of 5

Krampuslauf by Holly Black

this was the first piece by Holly Black that I had ever read and I loved it. It was so unusual. Set at new years, it follows a group of friends as the celebrate the season, but, with a Krumpus twist. From a two timing boyfriend, to a hot demon, anti-santa (I have no idea how to describe Krumpus), this had it all. There isn’t that much active romance in this one, but I still really enjoyed it. It is just so different from all the other tales in this book. It made me want to throw a mega new years party in a trailer lol.

star 55 out of 5

What The Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? By Gayle Forman

I cannot make up my mind about this. Generally speaking I love Gayle Forman’s writing, but I cant for the life of me decide what I think of this one. The couple in it are sweet enough and the general story is really cute and kind of funny, but I don’t love it. I’m not sure why. In theory I like it but in reality I’m not sold. The weird thing is I think that I really liked this one when I read it the first time around, but this time, not so much. It is a nice story though. Maybe if it was longer I would have been able to make up my mind about it.

star 33 out of 5

Beer Buckets And Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire

I love love love this one. I don’t know why but I just find it so sweet and funny. A real good girl, bad boy kind of story and it is just so good. I kind of wish this was a full length book, it is that good. I really don’t know why I love this one so much but I do. You follow the story of a group of students as they prepare for a churches Christmas play/nativity. It is just a very funny and lovable and the couple are adorable. I love it.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

Welcome To Christmas, CA by Kiersten White

and this is another one that I really love and wish was a full length book. I adore this story. It is absolutely adorable and so festive. I love it so much. You follow a young girl who live in a town called Christmas and desperately wants to leave it. She is counting down the days to graduation so that she can leave, and then she meets Ben. This is a classic story of a misguided escape plan and a romance that changes perspectives. I just really like this one. It is so cute and sweet and festive and awwww. I just love it so much.

star 55 out of 5

Star Of Bethlehem by Ally Carter

this story is weird as fuck. It is all about two strangers trading places with each other for Christmas It is just very strange and I really don’t know what I think about it. Because it is so strange I really didn’t get into it. I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it either. I’m pretty indifferent about this one. It was just plain bizarre I was left with more questions then answers. This one needed to be longer in order to work.

star 22 out of 5

The Girl Who Woke The Dreamer by Laini Taylor

And for the final story, I am confused lol. There was a lot of description in this book but really any interaction. I mean it was beautifully written. It was evocative and magical, honestly stunning, but unusual I didn’t love it, which is such a shame because I really wanted to. I had hoped that reading it a second time would help me fall in love with it but, alas, no.

star 33 out of 5

and that was ‘My True Love Gave To Me’. I honestly love this anthology so much. It is just like instant festivity. I think me reading this every year is probably going to become a tradition now lol. That is how much I love this book. It is just so beautiful. If you are only going to read one Christmasy book, make it this one. 12 beautiful stories in one amazing book. What’s not to love? Lol. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again tomorrow.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

