Books · Christmas

Book Review: Coming Home For Christmas by Jenny Hale

Hey Guys!

Day 3!!! I am kind of proud of myself for not missing a day yet, hopefully I can keep it up lol. Anyway. Since it is not only blogmas, but also Saturday, it is time for a Christmasy book review. Today’s review is for Coming Home For Christmas by Jenny Hale. Lets do this shit!

I am actually quiet torn over this book. I will be 100% honest with you guys and admit that the only reason I got this book, is because amazon offered me the e-book for free. Not gonna lie lol. But, I decided to give it a go and honestly, I cant make up my mind about it. There are aspects of the story that I really like and offers that I don’t I liked some characters, but not all of them. I liked aspect of the story, but not it as a whole. This one was very much a uncertain book for me.

I think there are three main reasons why I dint love it. The first was because it didn’t feel overly festive. I know that probably sounds strange given the title and the fact that it is set at Christmas, but it just wasn’t massively Christmasy There where moments when it was, for instance some of the moments between Allie and the kids. But mostly it didn’t feel overly Christmasy to me. For the most part it felt like the Christmas aspect of the story wasn’t really there, which was disappointing The second reason was because there was a love triangle What felt like a very forced love triangle at that. I hate love triangles with a passion. 9 times out of 10 they are just incredibly unnecessary and unneeded. I don’t like them and this book really didn’t need it. And the third reason is because it had a very Fifty Shades Of Grey feel to it, minus the smut. The aloof, slightly older, business man with a tragic childhood, the young, kind hearted woman determined to reach him? It just felt a bit typical and played out.

Apart from that I did like most of the book. I loved the children, and Pippa. I thought that they gave the story an interesting dynamic and without them it would have felt a bit flat. I also really liked the idea of Allie. This super caring, family orientated young woman who loves Christmas thrown into this dysfunctional family, set of self destruction It just worked. I do personally feel like Hale could have up played the Christmas aspect of the story a little more, but generally speaking it was okay. It was well written and a nice story. I loved the ending. It worked well, even if it was a bit predicable And its not a bad book considering that I got it for nothing lol.

star 44 out of 5

and there we have it. There is my first Christmasy book review. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again tomorrow, with another review.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

