Books

Book Review: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

Hey Guys!

It Sunday so you know what that means, its book review time. Today it is the turn of a very unusual romance story. This is A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall.

2016-11-12-13.22.07.png.png

This book is adorable, but very different. You literally never hear the story from the main characters perspectives. It is always from background characters such as friends, teachers, a squirrel and even a bench. It is very unusual but amazingly, it actually works really well. I was amazed at how well this worked. I was sure that it was going to feel jumpy and disconcerting, but it really didn’t, it just worked.

Lea and Gabe are absolutely adorable. They are the sort of people that you just want to hug. I loved them individually, and I loved them together They where literally perfect for each other. But I also loved all the characters that where telling the story. I loved Sam, the typical big brother, Inga, the meddling professor, Victor, the grumpy classmate, Maribel, Casey, Danny, Sophie, just everyone. They all had such individual personalities and they added so much to the story. If they weren’t so realistic, this format would never have worked. But what I loved most was that a squirrel got a perspective And so did a bench. A bench with a butt fetish.

The story itself is really sweet. Two people that are obviously made for each other, but only those around them can see it. It is interesting how much this book shows that we are influenced by those around us. Just how much others can change us, and change our course in life. I just loved the way that this was done. And this book was so funny. It was scattered in pop culture references such as Buffy and Teen Wolf references. It just made the whole story feel very down to earth and realistic. I really enjoyed it.

Overall I loved this book. It was a bit hard to get into at first. I took me a little while to get my head around the style of this book. I was quiet confused for the first like 30 pages lol. But once I got my head around the format of the book, I really enjoyed it. By the end of it I was really rooting for Lea and Gabe. Brilliant little read.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

I really like Sandy Hall’s writing. It is sweet and funny and just so lovely to read. I am defo going to be reading more by her. I have already but Signs Point To Yes on my Amazon wish list lol. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

