Books

Book Review: Murder On The Orient Express by Agatha Christie

Hey Guys!

Hows your weekend going? Good I hope. Since it is Saturday, it is time for another book review. This week we are talking about a true classic. This week it is all about Murder On The Orient Express by Agatha Christie, lets do this.

This is one of those stories that I already knew the outcome of. I don’t know why I did as I have never read it before, but I did. Maybe I saw a film of it as a child. I don’t know. But despite already knowing the outcome, I still loved it. This book really is a classic. Now you guys no me, I’m not usually one for classics, but I did truly love this. It was just so easy to listen to (I had the audio book, read by the guy who played Poirot for years).

The actual storyline is very interesting The idea that a fairly simple murder can actually be so much more complicated. I loved how every time you get a firm grip on the story, it suddenly spins and you are looking at it from a completely different perspective (and that’s coming from someone who knew who the murderer was from the off). I loved this. The fact that you where never quiet sure which way was up or what direction the next turn would be coming from.

I also loved the characters. I am ashamed to admit that I have never read a Agatha Christie before, but now I would like to read more. I was amazed at how a story this short could have such three dimensional characters. I have no idea how she came up with the ideas for each character. Everyone has their own personalities and backstories, and then they also have their real personalities and backstories. Everything fits together so well. It is amazingly done. She must have thought out every single possibility for every character before writing this.

I honestly did enjoy this book a lot and I do really want to read some more of her work now. It was interesting and mysterious, so cleverly written. I just loved it. And the audiobook version of it was so perfect.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

such a brilliant little book. I am really starting to appreciate the classics. I think next year I am going to try and read a few more Christie’s. Have you read any? What do you think of her work? I hope that you have liked today’s review and I will see you all again soon

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

