Books

Book Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Hey Guys!

Once again it is time for another book review. This week I am starting a new trilogy. Today it is all about Delirium by Lauren Oliver. Lets do this shit!

Well, I seriously underestimated this book. I assumed that it was going to be predictable and just liked ever other dystopian book I’ve ever read, but no. this book was incredible Like normal, I didn’t know anything about this book before I brought it, I was going purely of the description of the book. And I am honestly so glad that I decided to give this one a chance. It was amazing.

Now I will admit, the main storyline is super predictable. Its a world where love is a disease, its band and everyone gets ‘cured’ at 18, obviously the main character is going to fall in love lol. But I swear that was the only predictable element of this book. All the storylines where so original and unexpected. And everything was so exciting. I literally loved this book.

The book kind of reminded me of the Divergent trilogy or Hunger Games at times. In the sense of, you are under constant observation, very strict rules, poverty, being caged in ect ect. But Delirium put a whole new spin on it. In most dystopian novels, love is a secondary storyline, in this one, its the primary. And there are no love triangles! This book was just so brilliant. The storylines where so good.

But not only where the storylines incredible, the characters where brilliant as well. I really liked Lean. Yes, she did kind of have the whole, damsel in distress who needs rescuing, this about her, but I still liked her. She was just this very ordinary person, who ends up experiencing something extra ordinary As the story progressed she changed so much. She went from fearing everything, to being really brave, she went from not really trusting anyone, to falling in love. She opened up, she grew up, she evolved. I am really interested to see how she develops in the second book. She has the makings of an incredible heroine. But then the secondary characters where really interesting as well. Hanna really intrigued me as did Grace. And obviously, Alex. I would love to know more of his backstory. But then, I would also like to know more about Lena’s mum. Oliver has managed to create such interesting characters.

Generally speaking, I loved this book. It honestly had everything that you could want. I have literally just finished it and I already want to read the next one. If you liked Hunger Games or Divergent, you will love this trilogy.

star 55 out of 5

honestly, give this book a go. Lauren Oliver is a brilliant author. I wanted to read her new book Replica anyway, but now I cant wait. Have you read the Delirium trilogy? What did you think of it? I hope that you have liked today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

