Books

Book Review: The Accidental Life Of Jessie Jefferson by Paige Toon

Hey Guys!

Happy November! I’m already starting to feel a bit Christmasy lol. Anyway, its Saturday and you know what that means, its book review time. This week we are going the exact opposite of the last couple of weeks, with a fairly light, contemporary So, here is my review for The Accidental Life Of Jessie Jefferson by Paige Toon.

the-accedental-life....jpg.jpeg

I was actually pretty surprised by how much I liked this book. I have put off reading it for quiet a while because I wasn’t convinced that I would like it. And I will be honest, I wasn’t sure when I first started the book, but it soon grew on me. It was just, very easy to read. I think I got through this book in about 4 hours.

The actual storylines, although not the most original, it was very well written and still really intriguing I have only just finished it and I already want to read the next book in the series. There where a few times during this book where I was kind of face palming a bit. Purely just because of how unbelievable it was, but, there weren’t many of these times.

I think the most appealing bit of this book was the character progression. At the start of this book I really didn’t like Jessie. She was rude and reckless, pushing everyone away, but by the end, I really loved her. She grew up and changed so much throughout the book, I really liked this. And it wasn’t just Jessie, everyone in this book changed so much. Everyone grew up and matured a lot. Well, except maybe Jack.

Also, although this was generally quiet lighted book, it did have some deeper issues contained within. I mean, there is grief, alcohol abuse, changing friendships, etc. and obviously, the biggest storyline. Jessie and her dad, Johnny, meeting for the first time and getting to know each other. And all the family drama that comes with that. I liked the way that Toon explored these topics. She managed to explore all of these topics really well, but also keep the story light hearted.

But, generally I really liked it. Cannot wait to see where the series will go in the second book. If you want a very light easy read, I would give this one a try. Admittedly, it is set during the summer, but, it is also predominately set in LA, so it didn’t really feel overly summery. It was fine me reading it this time of the year.

star 44 out of 5

this was such a different book to what I was reading last week lol, but I felt like I needed a kind of, detox, lol. Anyway, I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

