Books

Book Review: Dracula by Bram Stoker

Hey Guys!

Welcome back. As it is the weekend you can probably guess what today’s post is going to be. Yep, its another book review. This week it is time to start reading some spooky books. From now until Halloween all my book review will be scary books. And this week i am kicking things of with a classic. Yep, I am, of course, talking about Dracula by Bram Stoker.

img_4651

Generally speaking, I don’t read classics. The language and the differences in social understanding and all that stuff just gets on my tits. This meant that I have put off reading Dracula for years and years but you know what? I actually wish I hadn’t Considering how old it old and the time frame in which it was written, it still works. I mean, considering that Dracula was written about 120 years ago, it still gives you a chill. I can imagine how terrifying this story would have been back in the day. It is just so perfectly written.

I will admit I was a bit thrown by the format of this book when I first started it. I wasn’t really expecting it to be in the form of diary entries and letters at the likes. It was quiet unexpected. But once I got used to it, it worked very well. It allowed Stoker to tell the story from half a dozen different points of view, without it getting confusing. It just worked very well.

Obviously, Dracula is quiet a short story, so it isn’t that easy to form attachment to the characters but I did really like some of them. I love Jonathan and Van Helsing. I liked Mina. Actually kind of liked Dracula. I just really liked everyone. Even in such a shot story, all the characters seemed to have hidden depths to them, which I really liked.

Overall I really did enjoy this one. It wasn’t quiet as spooky as I thought that it was going to be, but it did unnerve me. I think everyone should read this at some point. It is a true classic, but an easy to read one. Love it.

star 44 out of 5

I am defo going to be reading some more classics now. I am currently thinking, Frankenstein, The Strange Case Of Jekyll And Hyde and The Picture Of Dorian Grey. Just go for all the Gothic classics lol. Let me know what you think about Dracula. I liked it. I will see you all again soon. Happy Spooky Reading.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: Dracula by Bram Stoker

Leave a Reply

