Books

Book Review: The Potion Diaries by Amy Alward

Hey Guys!

Once again, we are at that time of the week where I review a book. This week it is a book that I haven’t ever actually been able to decided whether or not I wanted to read. Yep, this week I am talking about The Potion Diaries by Amy Alward. So, lets do this.

I am really conflicted about this one, I’ll be honest. It took me a really long time to get into this book. I knew from the off that this was going to be a light-hearted, easy read, but I was not prepared for just how light-hearted it was. It just felt like Alward was trying a bit to hard to keep it light and funny. This was particularly the case at the start of the book. The premiss for this story is brilliant. But, having read the book, I personally feel like the actual story would have worked a lot better if it was darker. You know, aimed at an older audience, and just generally more twisted and just, well, darker. I’m sure you know what I mean.

Don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy the book. Especially as it progressed. It got a bit darker and weirder as it went on, which drew me in. it did take me a long time to get into it, but it was good. The characters where interesting The Kemi family really intrigued me. I think that they have a really interesting back story. I think there could be a lot there, if Alward is willing to look, if that makes sense.

Generally speaking, I really cant form a solid opinion about this book. Sometimes I enjoyed it, others I didn’t There where moments I loved, but there where also a lot that I didn’t. I just don’t know. I feel like once Alward got into the swing of the story (around the 200 page mark) it all started to flow better and became far more interesting I think that I may give the second book in this series a go, but I am in no hurry. I am just thinking, sense it now feels like she’s into the story and knows the characters, the second book may grab me more, but who knows.

star 33 out of 5

so that’s it. I honestly cant decided how I feel about this book. Have you read it? What did you think of it? I really do feel as if this book would work a lot better if it was darker, but that may just be my opinion I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post, and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

