Books

Book Review: Fly On The Wall by E Lockhart

Hey Guys!

Its book review time! Yay! This week sees the return of an author who I am completely in love with. Yep, E Lockhart is back! Today i’m talking about ‘Fly On The Wall’. Letsa go!

Why are all of Lockhart’s books so addictive. You just cant put them down. I swear to go I read this in like one sitting. I loved it. Lockhart’s book are so interesting and yet, so easy to read. They are the perfect lazy day books.

Ill be honest, I brought this book on a whim. I had no idea what it was about, I brought it purely because it was written by Lockhart. And I honestly don’t regret it for a second. I loved every second of this book. As soon as I picked it up I was instantly drawn into the story. Its a brilliant premise for a book. I mean it was pretty obvious where the story was going to go, but it was just written so brilliantly and in such an interesting way. I really enjoyed it. This book was quiet light-hearted and very funny although it did have a few darker topics running through it, for instance, low self-esteem, bullying, homophobia ect ect. Which was quiet nice as it gave the whole book that little bit of extra depth.

I loved the characters in this book. I think Gretchen is part of all of us. She was the embodiment of us all. It was just very easy to understand why she thought the way she did, why she said what she said and did what she did. She was just easy to know. And I also really liked the secondary characters, although I do wish that they had played larger parts in the story. I know that like Titus and Adrian and that lot feature in the story a lot, but they don’t really guide it. But I still enjoyed it.

I just love Lockhart’s frank voice. She just calls it as it it. She is funny and honest. This book is so unlike what I have read from her before (we were liars) but also, somehow similar. It still had that strange undercurrent to it. The weirdness that is never truly explained, but just works. I am really curious to see if this is the case in all of her books. I will defiantly be buying her other books now. I am hooked on her writing style.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

I honestly really liked this book. I am glad that they have republished it, or I never would have had the opportunity to read it. This book has got such mixed reviews but I personally really liked it. If you have a spare few hours, give this one a read it. It is a really good, little, book. Have you read this one? What did you think about it? I am interested to know. This book seems to have really divided opinion Anyway, I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

