Recipes

Pumpkin Pie Recipe

Hey Guys!

Welcome back! Today I’m doing a another recipe! I feel as if I haven’t done one of these in ages. So, here we go. Today I am going super autumnal and sharing my Pumpkin Pie Recipe with you. So, I have never tried pumpkin pie before. It is a very American thing, it doesn’t really exist here in England. It just doest. But, I was curious af so I decided to give it a go. And turns out, it is amazing. I don’t know why it isn’t a thing in England because it bloody should be. So I am sharing my joy. My recipe is originally from Tanya Bakes by Tanya Burr, so check it out. But here is the recipe

Sorry about the bad lighting

What You Will Need:

170g Plain Flour

55g Cold Vegetable Fat

30g Cold Butter

1 Tin Pumpkin Purée

200ml Double Cream

3 Eggs

100g Golden Caster Sugar

2 Teaspoons Ground Cinnamon

2 Teaspoons Ground Ginger

Whipped Cream or Ice cream

25cm loose-bottomed tart tin

baking beans

How To Make:

  1. First you need to make your pastry. in a large mixing bowel mix the flour fat and butter together with your fingertips until crumbly

  2. next add 3 table spoons of cold water to make a ball of pastry. Wrap it in cling film and chill it in the fridge for about 30 minutes.

  3. Now, preheat your oven. 190 degrees Celsius, 375 degrees Fahrenheit or gas mark 5.

  4. next, remove your pastry from the fridge. Thinly roll out your pastry on a floured work surface. It needs to be about 2-3mm thick.

  5. Now, line your tin with your pastry , leaving the excess hanging off the edge (I greased my tin first, but you don’t have too). Gently press in the sides and then line your pastry with greaseproof paper. Fill it with baking beans and blind bake it for 10 minuets.

  6. After 10 minuets, remove the grease proof paper and beans. Prick the base several times with a fork and bake it for a further 10 mins, until golden and completely dry.

  7. Once it has been removed from the oven, trim the excess pastry from the edges with a serrated knife. (if you are feeling lazy you could buy pre-made pastry (sweet shortcrust) or a pre-made pie case).

  8. Now, grab a new mixing bowl. Mix together all the filling ingredients Your pumpkin, cream, sugar, eggs, cinnamon and ginger. Mix it until the filling is smooth and light.

  9. Next, transfer your filling to the case and bake it for about 40 minuets until it is golden but with a slight wobble in the centre

  10. Leave it to cool slightly and then transfer it to a wire rack to cool completely. Once cold serve it with either whipped cream or vanilla ice cream

And that’s it. This is so nice and actually pretty easy to make. Its a lot more straight forward then I thought that it would be. I am actually in love with Pumpkin Pie now. I now what to try pumpkin everything lol. I hope that you have liked today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

