Books

Book Review: The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury

Hey Guys!

Book review time. This week I am continuing a trilogy. The one in question is ‘The Sin Eaters Daughter’, trilogy, by Melinda Salisbury. Today I am talking specifically about the second book in the series, ‘The Sleeping Prince’. So, lets do this.

sleeping-prince

Now I will be completely honest with you, I kind of fucked up with this book lol. I read the first book in the series, ‘The Sin Eaters Daughter’ while on holiday well over a year ago. So….I cant really remember it. I mean, I know what happened in it, but I cant remember the details, if that makes sense. That meant that upon starting ‘The Sleeping Prince’ I really struggled to get back into the story and the universe to begin with. I think I had read nearly 100 pages before things started to properly click back into place. If I had been sensible, I would have reread ‘Sin Eater’ before starting the second the book lol. But, all the same, once I managed to get my head back into the story, I loved it. I really did. I had forgotten how good this story is. And honestly? This book was better then the first.

There are just so many storylines going on at the same time. It’s just so gripping. There is so much going on. And all the storylines twist and turn and weave together, linking in ways that you never thought that they would. Every characters story is intertwined and connected. It was brilliant. You just knew that everything was connected, but you you didn’t know how, until it was finally reviled. It was just so brilliantly done.

I think what worked so well about this was the fact that isn’t your straight forward squeal. Yes it continues the story that was started in the first book, but not in the usual way. This book skips back a couple weeks from when the first book ended and is told by a completely different perspective and follows new characters, although the new characters are connected to the original ones, and some of the original characters do appear in it later on. I was so impressed by how this was done. It worked really well. The only other books that I have read that manage to properly pull this move off are the ‘Forest Of Hands And Teeth’ books. I just loved the way that it was written. The only disadvantage to it being written this way was that I didn’t help with my confusion as it was kind of like starting a whole new story, if that makes sense.

I also have to admit that I think I actually preferred Errin to Twylla. She is just a more rounded character from the off. I mean, don’t get me wrong, as the first book developed, Twylla did grow on me and she did become a much better character, but to begin with she was childish and kind of annoying. Errin wasn’t Straight from the start she was so much smarter, braver, more resourceful, more self reliant. She was just a better character from the start. I really liked this about her, she instantly grew on you, whereas Twylla took time to. I really liked Errin.

Admittedly, I do kind of feel as if Silas’ storyline is a little bit underdeveloped at the moment, but I still really liked him. I think that his storyline will become better developed and more three dimensional in the final book of the series. At least I hope it does. Honestly think that that was the only low point of the point. I mean, I did figure out one of the plot twists but I don’t really mind as I didn’t figure out the others. I just really loved this book. I will definitely be reading the final book as soon as it is released. I wont be making the same mistake again lol. This series is well worth a read, but if you do, I would suggest reading them close together, just for your own sanity lol.

star 55 out of 5

I had forgotten how much I loved this series. It is brilliant. I personally think that these are such underrated books. They are brilliant but I never hear anyone talking about them. Honestly, if you are looking for a good trilogy, give this one a try, you will not regret it. I hope that you enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

