Books

Book Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Hey Guys!

Its time for another book review. This week it is the turn of a book that I have wanted to read ever since it came out. I put it off for a long time, but I have finally done it. The book that I am talking about is ‘Finding Audrey’ by Sophie Kinsella. Lets do this.

finding-audrey.jpg.jpeg

I loved this book. It was just incredible This book tackles some really difficult topics but manages to do it in a tactful, and often funny way. I was just so impressed by this book. More often then not books that deal with mental illness don’t do it properly. They make it out to be something that you get over in a second or they glorify it or even just don’t portray it properly. This book did everything right. I personally suffer with anxiety and panic attacks and I can honestly say, hand on heart, this book told it right. Everything about it was right. The feelings, the thoughts, the progress, just everything. It was all right. I was so surprised by how correct Kinsella got everything.

Not only was every dealt with properly, the storyline was just brilliant. I loved the characters. I personally think that by making Audrey seem so ordinary, it made her far more relatable. You could just connect with her so easily. You understood what she was thinking, you knew what she was feeling. It was just perfect.

I also loved her relationship with Linus. It was there and it existed and it helped Audrey, but never once was it made to feel like Audrey was making progress because a boy had swooped in and saved her……if that makes sense. I personally saw him as a helping hand, someone to fall back on. I just really liked them. They worked so well together and where pretty damn cute together

Another thing that worked so well about this book were the secondary characters. Chris, Anne, Frank and Felix. Each of them played such a pivotal role in the story, but also had their own stories going on at the same time. Plus, they regularly offered a little bit of comic relief in the story. Anne, with her obsession with the Daily Mail, Frank, with his scheming, Felix with his childhood innocence, it just all worked. They offered little glimmers of light in the dark times.

I really enjoyed this story. It was just so nice to see Anxiety etc portrayed correctly and in such a understanding way. I would highly recommend this book, it will, at the very least, give you a better understanding of mental illness.

star 55 out of 5

there we go. I cant tell you how much I loved this book. I am so glad that I have finally read it. Honestly, you should give it a go. Its brilliant I will see you al again soon

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

 

Leave a Reply

