Books

Book Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Hey Guys!

Its book review time! Oh yeah! I love review day. Today I am continuing another trilogy. This one is a trilogy that I started at the start of the year. Yep, I’m talking about Insurgent by Veronica Roth. Lets do this shit!

image

I love this series. I have no idea why I have waited so long to continue it. Once again, I half read, half listened to this one, and I did truly love it. I honestly understand what all the fuss is about with this trilogy. This story is brilliant. It is so action packed and exciting It is honestly one of my favourite trilogy’s now.

There is so much going on in this book. One second there is an all action fight, the next a lovely little love scene, and then another fight. It is just non stop. And what I really loved about this book in particular is that it showed Tris as being mentally scarred from her ordeals in the first book. You see her basically develop PTSD and anxiety. This may sound bizarre, but it is nice to see. So often in stories like this the characters appear unaffected by everything and it sort of strips them of their dimensions. They no longer seem real. But this was so refreshing because it didn’t try to glorify what Tris went through. It showed the honest truth about shit like this and I loved that. It made the story just so much more engaging and interesting and honestly, made everything seem more relatable.

I also loved that in this book we saw a lot more of the other factions. It made the whole of the ‘Divergent’ world feel so much more three dimensional. It meant that I could picture the world far more clearly then I could when reading the first one.

I am also impressed by the sheer levels of character development. I am just so staggered by how much Tris has grown as a person since we first met her. She is so different and yet, still the same. Over these two books she has grown up so much. She has learnt so much about herself. It is sometimes hard to believe that she is the same person. She has just come so far already. I am so intrigued as to what is going to happen in the last book.

I do also really like Tris and Four. I think that they just bring the best out in each other and I love that. Even though they sometimes fight and bicker, even though they disagree sometimes, they just work so well together I cannot wait to see how their relationship develops in the final book.

Over all I really did love this book. I cannot wait to read Allegiant. I cannot see myself waiting long to read it. I really regret waiting so long to start this trilogy

star 4.54.5 out of 5

Have you read this trilogy? Did you love it? I really want to know. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

