Books

Book Review: The Martian by Andy Weir

Hey Guys!

It is book review time. This week i am doing a very different book to usual, yes, that’s right, i am talking about a sci-fi book. This week it is all about The Martian by Andy Weir.

IMG_3889

I actually loved this book. Like really love it. Any of you that follow my reviews will know that i generally don’t read sci-fi. Actually, i usually actively avoid it. I just don’t like it. It’s not the concepts that i don’t like, just the sheer levels of concentration required and all the technical crap, but i decided to put my differences aside and read this one (….mainly because i am out of things to listen to lol). and you know what, i actually loved it.

I listened to this (i had the audiobook) pretty much continually from the minute that i downloaded it. I spent my entire weekend listing to it and even stayed up till nearly 2 am just to finish it. I was completely hooked by it. The storyline was just amazing. It was incredibly gripping. You where thrown straight into the action and it just pulled you straight in (side note, any book that opens with the line ‘I’m pretty much fucked’ wins my vote lol). and it never stops. It is just one thing after another with this book. There are so many twists and turns, so many successes and failures. You are left guessing till the last second. I honestly had no idea what the outcome of this book would be. you just didn’t know if he would make it or not. And that was incredible. It kept you hooked the whole time.

It also isn’t to sci-fi-y if that makes sense. Es it is set on Mars, yes there is scientific and mathematical talk but it isn’t overload. There are no aliens left right and centre. No ridicules concepts of interstellar travel (‘oh look, i just crossed 5 solar systems in 5 minuets’). It is just easy. You are just following Mark. There is a little bit of technical shit thrown in but it doesn’t fuck with your head. I loved it.

I also have to admit, i love Mark. He is fucking hilarious. I laughed while reading this so many times. There were just so many funny moments (not a sentence i thought that i would be saying about this book lol). but he is also so smart. And resilient. He never gives up hope. Even when all hope is lost (which it is approximately once every chapter) he always pulls through. He just simply refuses to die. Basically, he is incredibly stubborn lol. i just love him. I don’t think i have ever rooted for a single character so much before. I just felt like screaming words of encouragement at him ‘COME ON MARK! YOU CAN MAKE IT!!!!’. He is an incredible character.

And i really did love some of things that he came out with. Without his sarcasm and humour this book would have been far too dark to ever find enjoyable. But with it, damn it’s good. You are gasping one second, crying the next then laughing your ass off. It is just brilliant.

If you are looking for an incredible book, even if you don’t like sci-fi, read this. You won’t regret it (although for once, i wouldn’t recommend the audiobook version of the book. Don’t get me wrong the performance was brilliant, top notch, but it was a bit hard to follow some events. Such as when PF is communicating for the first time. That just fucked with my mind. No one can spell that fast, in their head.) i highly recommend this book, i loved it.

star 55 out of 5

Honestly this book was brilliant. i loved it so much. It isn’t often that a book grips me as much as this did. I’m not joking when i say that i listened to it pretty much nonstop. I mean i literally listened to it in a weekend. Truly brilliant book. I think i should consider giving more sci-fis a go. I will see you all again soon.

Quick sidenote, I lied last week. I am going to be continuing doing a book review on both Saturday and Sunday, like i did in August throughout September as well. This is purely because I am still incredibly ahead of myself with book review and i don’t like it, so I am going to do double reviews for another month and then I shan’t be ridiculously ahead of myself anymore lol. Hope you enjoy 

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

