Books

Book Reviews: Summer Days and Summer Nights by Various (Edited By Stephanie Perkins)

Hey Guys!

Here we are once again. Book review time. This week it is the turn of a book that I have been excited to read since I first heard that it was being released. Yes, that’s right, I am talking about Summer Days and Summer Nights by Various (Edited by Stephanie Perkins). Yay! I am so happy.

For any of you that don’t know, this isn’t an actual novel. It is a collection of twelve short stories. All are set around summer time and all are little romances. Each story is by a different author. Some of these include Cassandra Clare, Veronica Roth, Leigh Bardugo, Stephanie Perkins and many more.

I am not quite sure how I am going to review this, so what I think that I am going to do is review this in parts. So I will do an overall sum up of how much I enjoyed the book as a whole, if it is worth reading etc etc, but then I will do a little baby review for each individual story. Sound okay? Good. Let’s do this.

Summer Days And Summer Nights 2

I love this book. I really love it. You will find yourself falling in love over and over while reading this. Each new couple will wiggle their into your heart and set up camp there. I will admit that I did enjoy some of the stories more then others and I did love some couples more then others, but ultimately, I liked them all.

Each and every story just screamed summer. Each one was so different as well, there was so much variety in this book, far more then there was in ‘My True Love Gave To Me’ (or at least there is from what I remember lol). In one story we had a circus, in another a futuristic world, then a time loop, a cinema, a mountain, you name it, it was in this book. No two stories where alike. Although, saying that, there was an awful lot of parental death/abandonment in here. At least half of the stories had this in them, which I personally found very strange, but, hey ho. I just think, why did so many authors decide to include this. Weird.

I loved this book nearly as much as I loved ‘My True Love Gave To Me’. My favourite stories from this book where ‘In Ninety Minutes, Turn North’ , ‘Love Is The Last Resort’ , ‘Brand New Attraction’ and ‘The Map Of Tiny Perfect Things’. Although I did love pretty much all of them. I would highly recommend this book. It is guaranteed to put a smile on your face.

star 4.5

Head, Scales, Tongue, Tail by Leigh Bardugo

okay, this one was weird as hell. There is no other way to describe it. It was weird. I mean, the story was sweet enough I guess but it was just so bizarre. It jumped about, skipped years and then went weirdly supernatural…..it was just strange. I have never read anything by Leigh Bardugo before, so for all I know all her work is like this, I don’t know. All I know for sure is that I found this story bloody weird and pretty predictable. I called the big plot twist mega early. I honestly don t know if I enjoyed it or not. All my emotions towards this story are completely over shadowed by my brain wondering what the fuck that was lol. (I wrote this literally seconds after finishing the story and it has since been a couple of weeks and I still think this one was weird, although I can now see that Gracie and Eli where a pretty cute couple. This story was very bitter sweet, but overall a nice story)

star 3

The End Of Love by Nina LaCour

This story was beautiful. It revolved around the idea that just because one love is ending, it does not mean that love doesn’t exist any more. When one love is ending, another is beginning. This story was just so nice. You follow Flora as she struggles to deal with her parents divorce, escaping the turmoil by attending summer school and camping with her friends, and long time crush, Mimi. Such a sweet touching story. It just fills you with hope. Hope that love concurs all. Plus, Flora and Mimi are so cute together. They just work. Which is brilliant since you actually only get the tiniest glance of them as a couple.

star 4

Last Stand At The Cinegore by Libba Bray

this one was also pretty weird. It focused more on the horror side of things, as opposed to the romance one. It was like an old, cheesy horror story. I mean, it wasn’t bad, but I wouldn’t hurry to read it again either. I will admit that I did quiet like the idea of Kevin and Dani. I just feel as if I could have loved them, if the story had actually focused around them. I don’t know. This one was just pretty bizarre

star 3.5

Sick Pleasure by Francesca Lia Block

I actually quiet liked this one. It had a real, teenage, summer feel to it. Dancing, drinking, falling in love. It had it all. It was everything you expect teens to get up to over a steamy summer. It worked really well. The friendship groups dynamic worked really well, the lack of names, the love, just everything worked. However, the ending was very anti-climatic. Yes, it was honest and kind of poetic, but it wasn’t really what you wanted from a romance story. I am however intrigued by Block’s writing style. I will be looking her up.

star 4

In Ninety Minutes, Turn North by Stephanie Perkins

This story is actually a follow up to Perkins story from the Christmas version of this book (My True Love Gave To Me). The Original story was called ‘It’s A Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown’ and it was one of my favourites from the first book. It isn’t essential to have read the original story to understand this one, but it does help. I loved this story. It was so nice to revisit Marigold and North. They where honestly my favourite couple from ‘My True Love Gave To Me’ and I honestly love them even more now. They are so freaking cute. Admittedly, it would have been nice to see a completely new story from Perkins but I honestly did love seeing these two again, so very much. These two deserve their own, full length, novel. I love them. This story was just so sweet and summery, and actually quiet funny. I have once again been reminded that I really need to read more of Perkins work.

star 5

Souvenirs By Tim Federle

Okay, this one was very bitter sweet. Matty and Kieth are so cute together. They are so different but just kind of work. I hate the way this one ended. I really wanted a surprise twist right at the end lol. This whole story had that summer feel that you wanted it to have. Love at a summer job? Just perfect. It actually kind of reminded me of the film Adventureland. I really liked it. I had never heard of Federle before but I am now intrigued. Defo another one to add to the list of authors to look up lol.

star 4

Inertia by Veronica Roth

I cant actually make up my mind about this one. It was strange, but I think I liked it. It was kind of weird because it was half futuristic, but this was never really explained. It just kind of there, if that makes sense. It was just strange how this was done Another reason that I was unsure about this one was because t was basically all memories, there was very little present day stuff in the story. It was just a little weird. But, generally, I liked the idea of this one and I liked the couple and the general story, but, I just thought that it was a bit underdeveloped. I felt like Roth tried to jam just a bit too much into it. I personally think this particular story would work a hell of a lot better as a full length novel, as opposed to a short story. It was just to much for something so small. It was good, just not great, which is a shame because I love Veronica Roth.

star 4

Love Is The Last Resort by Jon Skovron

This story was very sweet and quiet funny at times. I really liked it. I found myself grinning at this story the whole time I was reading it. It was just so nice. There are three love stories going on in this one, each sweeter then the last. I think my favourite couple where Lena and Arlo. Although their relationship was the shortest, I personally found it the most genuine. Although, I did love all three of the couples. I also really loved the way that this one was written. I didn’t think I would when I started it, but the style really grew on me as I read. This is defiantly one of my favourites from the book.

star 4.5

Good Luck And Farewell by Brandy Colbert

I have very mixed feelings about this one. Some bits where sweet, others annoyed me. The main character was annoying as hell and I spent most of the story wanting to punch. She was just so self centred and rude. And it was made out to be a personality trait and I just didn’t like it. The whole story revolved more around her and her mothers death then the actual love story, which in itself was very rushed and didn’t feel very genuine. I actually preferred the secondary characters to the main ones. I don’t know, I just didn’t like this one.

star 2.5

Brand New Attraction by Cassandra Clare

This one I loved. It was dark and weird and pretty good. It was full of magic and demons and very much my cup of tea. I love me some supernatural shit. Lol. I honestly did really enjoy this one. I really like Cassandra Clare’s writing style, she is an incredible author. I actually think this story could have made a good full length story. There was a lot of depth to it, I loved it. Plus, the couple in it where very cute and felt very genuine and real. I loved them. Defo in my top 5 lol.

star 5

A Thousand Ways This Could All Go Wrong by Jenifer E Smith

okay, this was sweet as hell. I loved it. It was so nice. Annie and Griffin are just so cute. I just loved the way that this one was written. Smith managed to create a lovely, light-hearted, love story even though it was underlined with an autism storyline. I just really liked it. She completely normalized everything, which isn’t something that normally happens. Most stories that contain something like this make it the complete focus of the book and try to normalize it, but fail because of the focus they are drawing on it…if that makes any sense at all lol. I just really liked this book. It was sweet and cute and just very, very nice. I really enjoyed it.

star 4.5

The Map Of Tiny Perfect Things by Lev Grossman

Kind of weird, fairly complicated, but I liked it. Actually, scrap that, I loved it. It was sweet and funny, mysterious and magical, and so much more. It wasn’t at all what I was expecting to find in this book, but I really enjoyed it. Margaret and Mark where very cute together, and very genuine. Everything about them fit. They just worked so well together. I cant say that I have ever heard of Grossman before, but I will be looking them after this. I really liked it. Defiantly top 5 material.

star 4.5

So that’s it. I hope that you liked the way that I reviewed this one, it was the only way that I could think to do it. Oh well. I hope that you enjoyed today’s post. This has got to have been the longest book review post I have ever done lol. This also marks the end of ‘Book Review August’. We are back to just one review a week from now on. Oh well. I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

