Books

Book Review: Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

Hey Guys!

Today you are getting a random Sunday post! Yay! Lol. There is a reason for this, and that reason is it is time for another mini book review. Today I am talking about Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard.

IMG_3895

For any of you that don’t know, Cruel Crown is a compilation of two novellas by Aveyard set in the Red Queen universe. The first is Queen Song and the second Steel Scars. Both are set before Red Queen so obviously, they can be read at any time. Queen Song follows Queen Coralline (Cal’s mother) as she meets the future king, falls in love, becomes queen and slowly descents into madness. Steel Scars follows Captain Farley as she leads the scarlet guard and meets Shade Barrow.

I actually really enjoyed these little novellas. I will admit that I read this primarily to try to give myself the will not to give up on the Red Queen series. I have already talked about how disappointed I was in the second book, Glass Sword. But these novellas where very good. I did really like them both, although I did prefer the first one (Queen Song).

I loved finding out more about both of these characters. They are both just such interesting characters, neither of whom get anywhere enough ‘screen’ time in the books. It was really nice to uncover more about their backgrounds (particularly Farley’s). I think Aveyard chose the perfect people to write these little novellas about. Both of these characters just a lot of background to them. I sort of hope that Aveyard does more of these novellas but about different characters. I mean I would love to read more about Shade, Cal, Kilorn, Physco Bitch Queen (that is her official name lol) just to name a few.

I did quiet enjoyed this little one. I was very apprehensive about it, purely because of how much I disliked Glass Sword, but this was alright. It felt more like Red Queen did. I will however say that the whole decoded messages bit was annoying as fuck. It was just very tedious and repetitive and just really annoying lol. Oh well, this little novella is well worth a read if you are fan of the Red Queen series.

star 44 out of 5

I hope that you enjoyed this little bonus book review. I really wanted to do a review for it but honestly, I really didn’t know what to say about it. Not sure why. But any way, I hope that you liked it. I may have to do some more random Sunday reviews soon as I am currently about 6 books ahead of myself lol. Oh well. I will see you again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

