Books

Book Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Hey Guys!

Its book review time. This week it is the turn of a book that I have wanted to read for ages and ages but that I have never gotten around to. Yes, it is time for ‘The Sky Is Everywhere’ by Jandy Nelson.

The Sky Is Everywhere.JPG

Oh my god. Just oh my god. I loved this book. I really loved this book. It was beautiful. I was very unsure of it for the first few chapters but then, I was hooked. This story is just so heartbreaking and stunningly written. I really wish that I had read it sooner. Honestly, reading this book made my heart hurt. Nelson managed to make you feel this unimaginable grief. It was just amazing. You felt everything. Experienced it all. This storyline was just incredible.

And the characters where amazing. Lennie was just brilliant. she was so real that she made you feel it all. She made you grieve with her and love with her. Cry and laugh with her. Just experience it all alongside her. It was amazing. I love her character so much. She is so honest and relatable that it makes her so real. The topic of this book is so unbelievably difficult to truly understand yet, through Lennie, Nelson makes it possible. She writes this story in such a beautiful way.

I also love all of the secondary characters. They are also so incredibly real. Joe and Big, Toby and Gram, everyone. They all have these little quirks, or big quirks, that just pull them off the page and make them so three dimensional. Joe with his never-ending happiness and love for life, Grams with her full heart and garden of Eden, big, the gentle giant. I just ahh! The feels. I love them all so much. Without them, this story would not work. They really make it.

What I really love about it are the poems scattered through it. I love when books that little things like this in it. The really add to the story and help it feel more real. I just love the way they have done it. All these different scraps of paper, with these beautiful words, just slipped into the story. I just love it.

I honestly cannot express to you how amazing this book was. I loved it so much. Nelson is an incredible author. I know that I say this all the time, but you need to read this book. You just do. I think this may be my favourite contemporary book that I have read this year.

55 out of 5

I honestly cannot recommend this book strongly enough. I honestly loved this book so much that I have already stuck Jandy Nelsons other book ‘I’ll give you the sun’ on my amazing wish list and I will be ordering it very soon. If you are only going to read one book this summer, make it this one. I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

