Books

Book Review: Girl Online By Zoe Sugg

Hey Guys!

It is time for another book review. Yay! Lol. I really need to give this an actual name. Book review Saturday? Weekend reads? The Saturday review?….okay I suck at this lol. If you have any ideas, let me know in the comments below and I will love you forever and ever. Anyways, back to today’s review. This week it is the turn of ‘Girl Online’ by Zoe Sugg.
image

I was a bit unsure about this book. I’ll be honest, I couldn’t decided if I actually wanted to read it, but I decided to give it a go (mainly because an online friend keeps nagging me to read it lol) but do you know what? I actually ended up enjoying it. I mean, no, it’s not exactly a literary classic or anything, but it is fairly enjoyable and actually, contained some really nice/important messages.

The book did take a while to get going, I had read about 100 pages before I started to get a feel for the book. The first third of the book was basically just getting to know the story/background info and starting to get to know the characters. This bit did lag a little bit, but once I powered through it, I did really start to enjoy the book. I liked that there were some nice messages in the books. For instance, there is a lot of talk about anxiety and panic attacks and how to deal with them, there is also talk of bullying and cyber bullying and there are just some important messages. Especially considering that the book is targeted at teens.

I also ended up quiet liking the characters. I wasn’t overly sure of Penny at the beginning of the book, but she did end up growing on me. At first I thought that she was a bit immature and annoying, but after a while I did actually end up liking her. She ended up being a lot deeper then I first thought that she would be. She did still annoy me at times, but nowhere near as badly as I thought that she would. I was very indecisive about Noah though. I don’t know why, but I couldn’t make up my mind about him. Not sure why.

I did quiet like Penny and Noah’s relationship though. I thought that the where very sweet together. I found myself kinda smiling at them several times. They were just very cute together. Their relationship was very rushed, but it did sort of work. Even in the short time that they where together, their relationship did feel very genuine and real.

The storyline itself was a bit underdeveloped at times and bits of it where just very rushed. But overall it was pretty interesting. I did really like the fact that there was a lot of talk about anxiety and the likes. I liked the fact that the book sort of normalised it and gave actual advice on how to cope with it.

Overall I did quiet enjoy it. As I said at the beginning, it wasn’t the most well written piece of literature in existence, but it also wasn’t the worst. I don’t know why this book is getting so much hate. I enjoyed it.

44 out of 5

Honestly you guys nearly got a 1000 word rant about this book. Well not the book, but people’s response to it. If you want to get very annoyed and despair for humanity, look at the goodreads reviews for this book. People are just being so fucking moronic about it. Anyway, I liked the book. I will say this, don’t read this book in the summer. I did not realise that it is set at Christmas, so stupid me read it in July. Don’t do this. I now feel really festive and I have no outlet. Defo a winter book lol.

Anyway. I’m going to go now since I am basically just waffling (as usual). I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Girl Online By Zoe Sugg

  1. Already read it twice and loved it but nice review
    Some very fresh thoughts on the book and an idea for your section: The Saturday News not exactly original but good enough! 😂😂😂 sending respect,
    Melatiya xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

