Life

Summer Nails

Hey Guys!

Summer is finally here! I am so happy. I love summer. I am a really summer person. I hate being cold. So since summer is finally in full swing, I thought that it was about time that shared with you what nail varnishes I have been wearing so far this season. Here are my summer nails.

As always I have been wearing a lot of Barry M shades and Rimmel London, but for once I haven’t really been wearing a lot of Leighton Denny or OPI. But, I have been wearing some different brands as well, woo! Go me! I’m expanding my horizons. The other brands that I have been wearing include Tanya Burr and Ciate (who didn’t make this list because I don’t love it). But one thing that hasn’t changed this season is my undying love for Leighton Denny’s crystal finish topcoat, even if it has gone up in price. Honestly, I cannot tell you enough how amazing this stuff is. If you haven’t tried it yet, you need to. It will change your life…well at least the nail related aspects of your life lol.

IMG_1736

Let’s start with Barry M, since this is, once again, the majority brand lol. Like in spring I have still been loving the spring/summer range of Gelly shades and wearing them a lot.  So, here are the ones that i have been wearing. First, my favorite, Pink Lemonade. I honestly love this color. I find myself going back to it time and time again. I am not normally a pink person but this one is just so gorgeous. It is a very soft pastel shade. Very very gentle. I love it. It is such a soft pink that it goes with any clothes and is just incredibly easy to wear.

Next, Cream Soda. This is an off-white shade and again, it is just so pretty. I love white nail varnish, but it can sometimes be a bit harsh, this isn’t. Because it has a very slight cream undertone to it, it makes it a lot softer. Again, i have found myself going back to this one a lot. It is very easy to wear. The only issue with it is, being white, it picks up dirt, if that makes since. You can only wear if for about 3 days before you have to repaint. And this is purely because it turns slightly grey.

The next shade from the spring/summer collection that i have been loving is, Butterscotch Sundae. As the title suggests, with is a butterscotch color. Again, very pastel, but very sweet. I love it. It is a very good neutral color. It sort of reminds me of Leighton Denny, Supermodel, in the since that you can wear it with anything. It just sort of goes with everything. I love. I would defiantly check out this collection. There are some wonderful colors in it.

I have also been wearing a few of the older Barry M shades. First, Rose Hip. This is a lot pinker then anything that i normally wear, but i actually quiet like it. Not being a pink person i can only handle this one in small doses, but it is very nice. It is a very light pink. A baby pink. Again it is a Gelly color.

And also Cotton. Once again this is a Gelly color. This one is a pure white one. I love it. I have worn this at least half a dozen times. It is just so clean and crisp and just generally so pretty. I really have been loving it.

IMG_3436

I have also been loving some other Barry M shades. There are four of the normal shades that I have been wearing. The first one is Teal. This is a beautiful teal shade, funnily enough. But it kind of metallic. There is a little girl I watch sometimes and she says it’s like a mermaid’s tail. And I totally see it. It is very mermaid like. I can never quiet decided if I love this one or not. If it was just plain colour then yea, no doubt, but because it is metallic it changes colour, a lot. One second its blue, the next green, then there are yellow hints to it…I just can’t decide. One that I do know that I love is Blueberry. This is a blue, blue. If that makes sense. It is almost pastel, but not quiet. I love it. It is very pretty. Another shade that I have been loving is another blue and that’s is Blue Moon. This one is an ice blue. A real, ice blue. Think, Queen Else (yes, I went there). There is no other way to describe it. The final shade Barry M shade that I have been loving is Berry. This one is a purple based pink. Generally speaking I am not a big pink person, but I have been quiet liking this one. I have actually owned this one for about 4 years now, but I have only actually worn it about 5 times. It is nice. Again, it is almost pastel. Again very nice.

IMG_3438

 

Next it is the Rimmel shades. I have been wearing five of these but I have mixed feelings about Rimmel at the moment. Two of the shades that I have been wearing stain your nails really badly, even with a base coat. It is very annoying. These shades are Black Out and Ava-A-Bit of Jade. Black Out, as the title suggest, is a black. I love black nails, they are my go to. I had forgotten how I love having black nails until about 2 months ago. I am now having to use a lot of self control not to just continually wear it. AVA-A-Bit Of Jade is a beautiful greeny tealy jade colour. It is more teal then jade; at least I think it is. It is stunning. I love it. This was actually a recent discovery of mine but I love it. Both of these do stain your nails really badly, but, what are you going to do?

The other shades don’t stain, but have a strange finish. Like acrylic paint. It’s weird. I don’t like it. Anyway, these ones are called Midnight Rendezvous, Blue Eyed Girl and Sir, Yes Sir!. I really don’t know why they have this finish, but they do. I don’t know if they are older shades or what, I really don’t know. anyway, Midnight Rendezvous is a dark purpley blue shade. It is kinda odd on, but I think that most of the reason for this is the strange finish. Blue Eyed Girl, as the title suggests, is a blue. It is a really bright blue shade. It is quiet a light blue, but very bright. It’s nice, but again, strange finish. Finally Sir, Yes Sir!. This one is a strange colour. Hard to describe. It is sort of pink, beige colour with a purple undertone. It is impossible hard to describe, but nice.

IMG_3446

There has only been one Leighton Denny shade that I have been loving is Crown Jewels. This is a bright purple shade. Simple as that. I love it. I have worn this one a few times over the last couple of years and I really like it. It is a really beautiful shade of purple. Not one you see often. I really like it.

IMG_3451.JPG

 

The final brand that I have been wearing a lot is Tanya Burr, shades. There are four that I have been wearing regularly. The first is Peaches & Cream. This is a pink based cream colour with an orange undertone. I love it. It is very pastel and soft. It looks amazing with a suntan. I honestly adore this shade. The next is a very different shade and that is New York Night. This is a very dark purple shade. It is almost black it is so dark. I am actually in love with this one. It is so beautiful. Very me. The next shade is Penguin Chic. This one is a dupe of an Essie shade, but for the life of me, I cannot remember which. It is a beautiful brown, beige colour with pink undertones. It is incredible. I love it. Again, this one looks amazing with a suntan. Finally, the last shade that I have been wearing is Little Duck. This is a light blue. It looks pastel in the bottle, but it is brighter actually on the nail. Again, beautiful. I love it.

So that’s it really. As you can see I have been wearing a lot of brighter colours on my nails. Generally I am not a big fan of colour and really not of bright colours, but since it is summer, I don’t think I can really get away with black and grey nails continually lol. I do try to shake things up for different seasons, but black is still my go to colour of choice lol. Anyway I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post. I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Summer Nails

Leave a Reply

