Books

Book Review: When We Collided by Emery Lord

Hey Guys!

We are here again, its book review time! Saturdays seem to be coming around very quickly at the moment. Or is that just me? It’s just me isn’t it….oh well. Anyyyyways, back to today’s review. This week it is the turn of When We Collided by Emery Lord. So letsa go! (Quick side note, I wrote this after drinking several cups of coffee and I was apparently very hyper, but I could not be arsed to rewrite it so….enjoy the hyperactive, caffeine fueled rambling lol)

When We Collide.JPG

This book had a hell of a lot more going on in it then I thought that there would be. Honestly I thought that this would just be a nice, easy book. Nice summer love story and all that. No, wrong lol. This book is so much deeper than that. Now anyone thinking “how did she not know what it was about? Is she stupid?”, the reason I didn’t realise is because generally, I don’t research books. Most of the time I read a book based purely on its blurb or on a friends recommendation. I used to do a lot of research but after stumbling across massive spoilers several times and hearing really bad shit about books that I ended up loving I just don’t do it anymore. So literally all I knew about When We Collided was what is printed on the back. Ramble over. Anyway, where was I? Oh yes, depth. As I was saying before I so rudely interrupted myself, yeah, I did not know how deep this book would be. I was not expecting there to be so many twists and shit.

I adored these characters. Jonah is so serious and thoughtful and caring and sad and aww. He is just so bloody loveable. I just want to hug him. Hold onto him and never let go. And Vivi is just incredible. She is just this whirlwind of colour and joy. She is just so determined to live life to its fullest and spread her joy. These two are so good together. They bring out the best in each other. Vivi lightens Jonah and in return he stabilises her. They are honestly just perfect. They are exactly what one another need.

Actually, I loved all the characters. Leah, Isaac, Ellie, Naomi, everyone. They were just so real. They where caring and loving but they had issues. They worried and cried and struggled and just existed. Every single one of the secondary characters where realistic. It was amazing. It is very rare to find a book like this.

And the storylines in this book are just incredible. You have this beautiful love story with all this dark twists woven through it. There is death and depression, sorrow and mental health issues, it is just so incredible. Everything just works so well together. I have got to say Emery is an incredible author. She writes such sensitive topics so beautifully. I really want to read more from her.

Honestly this book was beautiful. At times it reminded me a bit of All the Bright Places at times. It is just so beautiful. I would defiantly recommend this book. It is so stunning. I loved it. I am actually so glad that I didn’t know what this book was about as it meant that I had no idea what was going to happen. You really need to read this.

55 out of 5

Such a beautiful book. I loved it to death. If you only plan to read one book this summer, make it this one…..I say this a lot…..anyway, 100% recommend! Have you read this one? What did you think about it? Did you love it? Let me know what you thought it about it. I love you all and I will see you all again soon

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

2 thoughts on “Book Review: When We Collided by Emery Lord

Leave a Reply

