Books

Book Review: The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

Hey Guys!

Once again, it is time for another book review. Like last week’s book, this is one that my dear (cough-annoying-cough) sister has been badgering me to read for nearly two years now, yes people, I am talking about The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa. Let’s do this.

20160529_172051

I have very mixed emotions about this book. I enjoyed it, but not as much as I thought that I would. Some of this unsureedness (is that even a word? Probably not lol) could be my own fault. I will admit I was reading this book and Glass Sword at the same time, which was very stupid. I really confused myself at times lol. I had several moments off ‘what? No, earlier Allie said that…oh no, wait…that was Mare…’ it was very confusing lol. Whatever you do, never read to dystopian novels at the same time. Especially ones with mildly similar leads lol. Anyway, generally I think that I enjoyed it.

I know that I loved the characters. Like really loved them. Particularly Allie. The idea of this little like 5ft 1, teenage girl, going round kick ass and saving people is just brilliant. I love truly bad ass female leads. I read a lot of books with fem leads and more often than not they spend the whole books being rescued (normally by their male love interest) or being moronic and getting themselves into stupid situations. There was none of this in The Immortal Rules. Allie just spends the whole book taking down people twice her size. I love it. As a small, 5ft 1, girl myself, Allie is truly inspirational lol. She is smart, brave and strong. She has got to be one of the most resilient characters that I have ever met.

And then there are the secondary characters. Kanin, Jeb, Zeke and so on, are all just so interesting. Kagawa has managed to create very three dimensional characters. She has clearly given a lot of thought to every single person’s back-story. And it’s brilliant. it makes it so easy to understand every characters motives and opinions. It’s just brilliant. plus Caleb is just plain adorable.

The storyline also really intrigued me. It was super interesting and left me questioning a lot of things. What would I have done in Kanin’s place? Would I choose to die or live? Would I flee or fight? Would I search for Eden? It was a really good storyline.

I think the reason why I am unsure about it is because I found it a bit anticlimactic at times. Like the ending, it felt rushed. I also guessed a few of the twist really quickly. But overall, you know what? I did enjoy it. I will read the rest of the trilogy, but at this moment in time, I am not in any hurry to pick up The Eternity Cure.

4.54.5 out of 5

I can see why people like this series so much and I do think the only reason that I had issues with it was because I was reading Glass Sword at the same time. Two small, brave, smart, female leads, in dystopian fantasy worlds, both of whom are far more powerful then they believe…..I really did confuse myself lol. It was not a good idea lol. Anyway, I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

