Books

Book Review: We Were Liars by E.Lockhart

Hey Guys!

It is time for another book review. This week’s book was fucking epic. It is We Were Liars by E Lockhart. But, before I start, quick side-note. I have recently brought myself quiet a few new contemporary books. Generally I don’t usually go for contemporary, I have to be in the right frame of mind for it. But, this year pretty much everything I have read has either been dystopian or fantasy, and all kinda dark (a few exceptions obviously) so I have decided that over the summer I am going to read some contemporary’s. Just generally things that are bit more lightweight and not so dark and twisted….actually I know some of the books that I got (book haul coming up next week, don’t worry :D) so may not avoid the darkness…okay I am well and truly waffling, so I am going to stop now and get on with this review lol. Here is, We Were Liars.

2016-06-17 10.06.12

Oh my fucking god! This book was incredible. I literally couldn’t put it down. I read it in about 3 hours. I just couldn’t stop. It was just so amazing. This book just kept me guessing right to the last page. It was just brilliant. I cannot even begin to describe how much I love this book.

The storyline is just absolutely bloody incredible. It is sort of, ‘If I Stay’, meets ‘The Beautiful Dead’ with a little ‘All The Bright Places’ thrown into the mix…..if that makes any sense at all lol. There is just much going on. Love and life, guilt and depression and just so much more. I loved it to pieces. And the characters are so dynamic and realistic. I am always staggered when authors manage to create such amazing characters in such short books. it never fails to amaze me.

I was honestly so skeptical about We Were Liars. I had read such mixed reviews about this book. Everyone I had talked to about it either loved it or hated it. There was no in-between. And I now understand why. I am not ashamed to admit that I initially picked this up to stop my sister badgering me to read it. I am so glad that I did. It was amazing.

I am officially in love with Lockhart’s writing. She is an incredible author. Not only did she create lifelike characters and engaging storylines, she created emotions. I fell in love with these characters and I didn’t want the book to end. Honestly, you need to read this book. Just read it. You will not regret it.

55 out of 5

Honestly this book is amazing. I can do it justice without spoiling it. Just trust me, you need to read it! I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: We Were Liars by E.Lockhart

Leave a Reply

