Books

Book Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Hey Guys!

Today i am going to be doing another book review. This one is going to be another ‘Back Review’. So I recently started reviewing books that are the first in the series, which I read before starting Escape From Reality. Well, I have now decided to take this one step further and also review books that I have previously read, and just loved. So these will go up as and when I have written them. They will most likely go up on a Friday, but they aren’t going to every week nor have any regular schedule, they will just be, when I get around to doing them. They will be like little bonus posts. Anyway, as usual, I am waffling. So let’s do the actual review. Today review is for ‘If I Stay’ by Gayle Forman. (warning, contains mild spoilers, but come one, everyone knows what this book is about by now lol)

IMG_2679.JPG

I read this book about a year and a half ago, although it had been on my too read list for about 4 years. I put of reading it for a very long time, mainly because it had a lot of hype and generally, when a book has hype, I don’t really enjoy it. It just doesn’t live up to my expectations. But honestly, this book did.

‘if I Say’ has got be one of the most thought provoking novels that I have ever read. I honestly couldn’t put it down. This story is just so gut wrenchingly tragic and painful. The storyline is everybody’s worst nightmare. I cried so much while reading this book. There is just so much going on. There is love and loss, tragedy and beauty, music and desperation. It is beautiful.

And it is so thought provoking. The whole story leaves you questioning yourself. What would you do in Mia’s position? What would your decision be? would you choose to live or die? Would you stay or go? This book actually gave me think about this stuff so much, that I actually had a mild existential crisis after reading it, but that’s just me lol.

I will admit, the storyline did seem to drag a little at times. On occasions I did feel as if nothing substantial had happened for quite a while. But overall it was very good. It kept me guessing on the ultimate outcome until the very last page. And even then, I was still a bit ‘Ahhh! I want more’ lol. I will admit, I did feel that ‘If I Stay’ was a little overhyped, but saying that, I would still highly recommend it. But be warned, you will cry……several times. And you will also look at the world differently after reading it. As soon as I finished it I just wanted to hug everyone I love.

4.54.5 out of 5

Since reading ‘If I Stay’ I did attempt to read the sequel, ‘Where She Went’ but I only made it about a third of the way through. It is honestly the single most pointless squeal I have ever read…and it was kinda crap…sorry Gayle. I have brought another one of Forman’s books though. I got ‘just one day’ which I am pretty excited to read….when I eventually get around to it. I did really like Forman’s writing style; so hopefully, I will enjoy ‘Just One Day’. I am sure I will tell you all about it when I do lol. Have you read If I Stay? What did you think about it? I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

