Books

Book Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Hey Guys!

It’s time for another book review. This week it is the turn of Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard. I read the first book in this series, Red Queen, back in January, it was actually the first review that I posted on here, and I loved it, so naturally, I have really wanted to read the second book ever since. I actually ended up getting this in audiobook format, purely because the book is still only out in the large paperback edition, not the normal size. So anyway, I am, as usual, rambling; let’s just get to this review.

wp-image-1444622432jpg.jpg

I am kind of disappointed in this book. I hate to say it, but I am. The first book was brilliant. It was very unpredictable and surprising; it had me gripped from page one. Glass sword wasn’t. I really struggled to get into this one. I don’t really know how to describe it, but even though things were happening, it didn’t feel as if they were. The whole book was very repetitive, and honestly, a little boring at times. I hate myself for saying this, but at times I found myself wishing for it to just end already. Everything just felt very dragged out.

I also felt as if a lot of the storylines and characters where underdeveloped. There were several times where you where just told ‘of this is so and so and they can do this’. You weren’t properly introduced to people or their stories. I also felt as if Aveyard was trying to force too many new characters into the story. I can tell you what it reminded me of, Breaking Dawn, (stick with me on this one). In the last part of Breaking Dawn we were introduced to like 40 new characters, all of which had ‘abilities’ and it was very hard to keep up and meant that all these new characters, didn’t really feel there. That is what Glass Sword felt like. There were just so many new characters thrown into the mix, I just couldn’t keep up with who was who. All these character, that could have been amazing, just felt like they were cluttering up the story.

And then the main characters such as Mare, Cal, Kilorn etc, lost out. Their storylines suffered. I ended up finding Mare very annoying in this book. I think it was because everything about her felt very different and rushed. At times it felt like Aveyard was forgetting to tell us something. This made me really sad, because I think Mare could be an incredible character. She has all the makings of it. She is smart, strong, loyal, brave, caring and so much more, but Glass Sword just didn’t work for her. In this book she seemed like a completely different character. And I know to a degree she was. She went through a lot in the first book and even more in the second. But, even when you have been through a lot, you don’t lose every part of your being…if that makes since. Mare seemed to have completely changed, like 100%. She was not the same character. There is character development and then there is just scraping them and starting again.

I feel as if I am being very negative in this review, and I hate giving negative reviews, so here is some positive. There where aspects of the book that I enjoyed. For instance, the action. The fights in this book where very well written. There was a lot of action and it was interesting to see how all those different abilities worked in a fight. For instance, what happens when lightening takes on metal, or fire meets invulnerability? It was interesting to see what happened and to learn the limitations of power.

I also like seeing some of the relationships in the book, although some did seem a little unnecessary. It was sweet to see Shade’s relationships (I won’t say more than that), although the twist at the end of the book, regarding that, felt completely unnecessary. It was not needed at all, but hey ho. But seeing the way Cal is with children or the way Farley interacted with The General, it gave the book a little spark. It made it more interesting and honestly, was what kept me reading/listening.

Although I will admit, the whole Mare/Cal thing really pissed me off. It just made me super angry. One minute it was ‘stay away, no distractions’ the next ‘don’t leave me’. They switched between the two so bloody often that it was so irritating. Either get together, or don’t. I felt like screaming ‘MAKE UP YOU BLOODY MINDS!’ at them lol.

Over all I was disappointed with Glass Sword. It was very predictable and felt underdeveloped. It defiantly suffered from second book syndrome. I will read the third book when it come out, mainly in the hopes that it manages to pull back a little of the feel of the first book.

33 out of 5

I hate being negative about books, but if I said I liked this book, I would be lying to you, and I refuse to do that. I am so gutted about this book. I had such high hopes for it. Please tell me I am not the only one who felt this way. I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

