Books

Book Review: Half Lost by Sally Green

Hey Guys!

Its book review Saturday, and this week, it’s a big one. It is time to bring the trilogy to an end. It is time to review Half Lost by Sally Green.

Half Bad Trillogy.JPG

Oh my god! I am so conflicted! I just, urgh. I fell completely in love with this trilogy as soon as I picked up Half Bad. And I have been eagerly waiting the finally ever since and I hate to say this, but I was disappointed. It almost felt as Green had sort of, lost steam. As if she ran out of ideas and just fizzled out. Half Lost felt very anticlimactic.

Don’t get me wrong, it was still good. And I am still so in love with the characters, but, I don’t know. The storylines just didn’t seem as good, as intense, as the ones in the first two books. I mean I always knew it would be hard for Green to match the brilliance of the second book, but, it was almost like she didn’t even try. Everything in the third book just seemed a bit too easy.

With the first two books things seemed to start instantly. You where pretty much thrown straight into it all. And it never really stopped. With Half Lost, I felt like I was half way through the book before anything actually happened. The first half of the book was basically just Nathan whining and, honestly, it was very tedious. And then when things did eventually start happening, it was very, I don’t rushed and underplayed. You would have these big fights, and half way through them, it would just jump ahead, to a later calm. At times it felt like Green just couldn’t be bothered to actually write the battles.

I mean, yes, there was a lot of character development in this book. Nathan has grown so much as a person since we first met him. He is strong and a leader and just so fearless. And Gabriel. Oh my god. I love him so much. He is exactly what Nathan needs in his life. So caring and calm and intelligent. And even the characters that I didn’t really like at first have grown on me. Like Celia and Nesbitt and Van and everyone. But the ending of this book just didn’t do them justice. Their story’s just seemed to fizzle out and disappear. I am so devastated about this. I hoped for such incredible things for these characters and we just didn’t get to see any of it.

I have talked to other people that have read the whole trilogy and they have all said the same as me. I had thought that maybe it was just me, that maybe I had had unrealistic expectations for Half Lost, but, no. It wasn’t as good as the other two books. It was still good, but not on the same level as the others, which is just such a bloody shame.

Plus that ending, WHAT! I mean seriously! What the ever loving f*** was that! Ahhh, I nearly screamed. You cannot end this trilogy with that. Everything that happened in the last few chapters can just do one lol. I refuse to accept it.

3.53 .5out of 5

I am honestly so sad about this book, I wanted so much and got so little. I just, urgh. I just can’t. I think I need to go curl up somewhere and not talk to anyone. I will see you all again soon, when I have, hopefully, mentally recovered a little.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Half Lost by Sally Green

  1. Great review ! And I totally agree with you I didn’t like Half Lost as much as the first two books and I really hated the ending 😢 which is sad because I love this trilogy so much and Half Lost was one of my most anticipated book releases of 2016, I still love this trilogy but not as much

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

