Books

Book Review: A Song For Ella Grey by David Almond

Hey Guys!

Its book review time. Today’s book is one that I have been reading for quite a while. It’s A Song For Ella Grey by David Almond. Let’s do this!

Ella Grey 3.JPG

I am honestly so confused by this book. I have no idea what I just read. Seriously, what the bloody hell was happening in this book? I don’t know! I am so confused. My brain hurts.

Don’t get me wrong, I get that A Song For Ella Grey was a story about friendship and love, the beauty of the world and all that crap, but honestly I am just so confused. This book has honestly given me a headache. It was so difficult to follow what was happening. It was jumping from the past to the present, from Claire POV to Orpheus’s, from one event to another. Honestly I really struggled to follow this book. And before anyone says anything I get the whole ‘Orpheus’ from Greek history and everything, this book just made my brain hurt.

Yes this book was beautifully written. It was very poetic and musical. There were clearly very deep meanings to basically everything in this story. There where amazing depictions of love and friendship but, I don’t know why, but it was just really hard to follow. It is so weird. I mean I have read some strange books in my time but this one? It was on a whole new level.  I don’t understand what the hell it was actually about. What was its meaning? What point was it trying to make? I really don’t know.

I just really didn’t get this book. I don’t really understand what all the hype about this book is. It is the first book by Almond that I have ever read, and it is the only one I will be. I am very confused.

22 out of 5 stars

I know this review probably makes me sound really dense but I just could not get my head around this book. Normally I can get any and every book but not this one. I just, no. It took me a really long time to get through purely because I couldn’t get into it. I was having to really force myself to try and read it. I just didn’t like it. I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: A Song For Ella Grey by David Almond

Leave a Reply

