First Impressions · Life

First Impressions:Rimmel London, Fix & Protect Pro Primer

Hey Guys!

It’s time for another first impressions post. Today it’s the turn of a primer. To be more exact, it’s the Rimmel London, Fix & Protect Pro Primer. I got this primer months ago. It was on one of those deals boots/Superdrug sometimes has where it’s like, ‘buy two Rimmel products, and get this primer free’. So, I ended up with a free primer. I haven’t used it until now because I already have a primer that I love to death. And that is The Body Shop, Instablur, All in One, primer. It is amazing. Strange consistency, but brilliant. The only downside of it is the price, at £14 for a very small tube that will only last around a month, it is the priciest cosmetic item I buy. I ran out of it a few weeks ago and decided to give the Rimmel one ago. And, it’s not bad.
image

I got the mattifying version of this and I have been pleasantly surprised. The primer claims to have a 5 in 1 effect. It claims to smooth, resurface, brighten, mattifying and protect. The primer has the consistency of a thick, lotion moisturiser. So, subsequently, it is very easy to apply, if a little heavy. I focus my primer primarily around my eyes and lips. For me, my eyes are the first place my makeup will slip. And at the moment I have dry skin by my mouth, from where it has been so cold here, so obviously it a, needs smoothing/surfacing and b, needs to hold my makeup all day to obscure it.

This primer doesn’t surface brilliantly. It does smooth to an extent and leaves your skin fairly soft, but doesn’t smooth blemishes massively, not like Instablur does. But, it does help hold my makeup. Normally by abut lunchtime my eye make has smudged a little, my foundation has started to slip, especially around my mouth, but I have found that when I use this primmer, this doesn’t happen till around 3pm. I have been very impressed by this. Considering this only cost around £6 I believe, it does hold my foundation as well as my £14 tube of Instablur.

I will however admit that I hate the smell of this stuff. I don’t know if this is just me or others feel the same. But personally, I cannot stand it. It skins. It just smells really sort of chemically and yuck. I just don’t like it. It is very off putting first thing in the morning.

This being said, I would considerer purchasing this in the future. I do still prefer my beloved Instablur, but, as a cheaper alternative, this is very good. If you can get over the smell of it, it is a very good product. I do seem to remember that they did three different versions of this primer. When I got it they did the mattifying one, a brightening one, and another one that I cannot for the life of me remember lol. If you are looking for an inexpensive primer, I would check this one out. I have a 30ml tube, and I have been using it pretty much every day for about three weeks and there is still a lot left. Overall, not bad at all.

I hope that you have enjoyed this. How are you feeling about First Impressions posts? I would love to know if you like them or not. I have to admit that I quiet enjoy writing them, and trying new products. Also, would you prefer it if I gave it a star rating? Like I do with books? Let me know. I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

