Books

Book Review: Lackwood & Co, The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud

Hey Guys!

Is book review time. This one has been a long time coming. I brought this book over a year ago and didn’t get around to starting it until January. And I have only just finished it. Anyone who follows my Goodreads or Instagram, will know that I very rarely only have one book on the go. Most of the time, I will be reading two or three. I always have at least one on my bedside table at home, one eBook/audio book normally on my phone and one book in my bag. The book by my bed is my primary read. The one I get through in a day or two. Whereas the eBook can take a week or two (it’s easier to open that on the train then fishing an actual book out of my bag. So subsequently, the book in my bag can take a few months to get through. Lockwood & Co was one of these books. It has taken me about two months to read it, which is a shame since it was brilliant. But enough rambling. Let’s do this review.

IMG_0330

I loved this book. It was honestly brilliant. However, I have no idea how it is classed as a children’s book. I would not give it to a child. I’m nearly 20 and was seriously unnerved and creeped out by some of it. The story is very dark and twisted. Yes, the main characters are teenagers, and so have some childish traits, but that is the extent of its childlike nature. To sum up how un-child friendly I think this book is, let me just say this, there is a room filled with blood and a well that makes you suicidal. I hope that’s made my point.

Regardless of this, I loved it. Admittedly, it was a bit predictable. I figured out the big plot twist about halfway through the book, and several of the smaller twists I guessed immediately. But even so, it really kept you on the edge of your seat. The characters are so honest and relatable, it made you feel as if you where a part of the story. As if you where standing alongside them.  Stroud is a brilliant author. He really brings the story to life.

What I really loved about this story was, that although the story, and possibly main-ist character, was a teenage girl, she wasn’t a damsel in distress. Nor was she this incredibly strong, kick ass, independent women. She was just a very normal girl. Lucy is intelligent and brave, but makes mistakes and gets scared, and even sometimes needs rescuing. But she just so damn normal. And I love that. Too often authors make their female lead either super independent, or in constant need of rescuing. I really loved Lucy for this. And it has made me love Stroud a lot.

And the same goes for the backup characters. Lockwood and George are both fantastic characters. I wasn’t too fond of George to begin with. I found him a little condescending and irritating, but he did grow on me.  And as for Lockwood, I am a little bit in love with him. I will admit, I was having a few inappropriate thoughts about him, as bad as that does sound. He is just such a fascinating character and I kind of want him and Lucy to get together at some point. Each character has plenty of flaws but tighter, they make this unstoppable team. They actually reminded me quite a lot of the golden trio from Harry Potter. I really liked them.

Overall I did really enjoy this book. I have already brought the next one in the series and I cannot wait to read it. I will admit the very end of the book was really weird and left me really confused, but hopefully that will become clearer in the next book. I would highly recommend this book. It really was brilliant. Just don’t give it to a child. I loved it.

4.54.5 out of 5

This really was a brilliant book. Every book that I have read so far this year I have really enjoyed, well except for that weird Lochness one, but I have sort of blocked that one out because it was so strange lol. What has been your favourite read of the year so far? I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: Lackwood & Co, The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud

Leave a Reply

