Books

Book Review: Percy Jackson And The Sea Of Monsters by Rick Riordan

Hey Guys!
It’s Saturday, so you know what that means, book review time! This week it’s the turn of Rick Riordan. Today’s book is Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters.
I know I am very late to this series, but for some reason, I just never read them before now. Last may I read ‘The Lighting Thief’ and fell in love with it. Rick Riordan is fast becoming one of my favourite authors. I love his writing style. And love the storylines. I brought the rest of the series last month and now, I have finally gotten around to reading ‘Sea of Monsters’. So, lets get down to the review.

image

Just like with the first book, I couldn’t put this one down. I just had to keep reading. I loved it. Percy’s character development staggered me. In the year since we last saw him he has changed so much. Grown up. Matured. I love him even more in the second book then I did in the first. I am so excited to see how much more he progresses throughout the rest of the seires. I am also loving how his friendship with Annabeth is progressing. I can already see why the fandom ship them togther so much. They really do compliment eachothers personalities perfectly. I know that we don’t really see a lot of them ‘togther’ together and I am already disopinted about that fact lol.
I loved the storyline of this book. Through and through. Like the first one, it held my attention right from the beiging. And like the first one, lulled me into a faulse sense of secrutiy. Rick Riordan is brilliant for putting in all those little, or sometimes massive, twist that you aren’t expecting. Tyson, Thalia, Luke, all twists that you just did not see coming. And I am glad about that. These books remind me so much of Harry Potter. They have the same feel to them, which I think is why I love them so much.  I cannot wait to start reading ‘Titans Curse’, and I literally finished ‘Sea of Monsters’ about 20 minuets ago lol.
I loved the twist right at the end. Before that I had thought that the last chapter was dragging a bit, wrapping everything up a bit too neatly. Your classic flause sense of security. And boy was I right. I am so intrigued to see how this all pans out in the next book. I appologise now, but you are proberbly going to get sick of me review Percy Jackson very soon lol. I am proberbly going to be starting ‘Titans Curse’ tonight. I am itching to pick it up.
If you have never read this seires, you deffinatly need to. Especially if you like Harry Potter. I haven’t been this invested in a seires since reading them. Percy Jackson is a seires everyone needs to read.

image

5 out of 5

I am seriously loving Rick Riordan at the moment. As soon as I have read the Percy Jackson books, I can see myself picking up another one of his seires. I already know that I want to read the ‘Hero’s Of Olyumpus’ seires and the ‘Kane Chronicals’. I am loving him. You should defiantly read them. I will see you all again soon.

Leave a Reply

