Books

Book Review : Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Hey Guys!
I can’t remember whether or not I have already told you this, but I have decided not to do my ‘monthly reads’ posts anymore. They just take too long to put togther and I never manage to get them up on time, plus I find the reviews suffer for it. Instead, i am now going to be simply posting an individual review for each book that I read, as and when I finish it. This should be quite regular as I have set myself a goal of reading 52 books this year. In theory, one a week. But enough rambling. Here is my review for Red Queen.
IMG_0376.JPG
I brought this book quiet a while ago now, and have just had it sitting on my bookshelf looking at me ever since. I have no idea why I waited so long to read it. I really wish I hadn’t.
I felt like I was on a rollercoaster while reading this book. There where just so many unexpected twists and turns in this book that you spend your whole time reading it in the edge of your seat. I couldn’t put it down. Aveyard succeeds in creating this amazing three dimensional world with such complex characters that you actually feel as if it all truly exits. You can’t help but form an emotional attachment to the characters. I honestly fell a little bit in love with Mare’s character. She is such a strong charactwwho never lets her fate hold her back. She is smart, sensitive, tough, brave and generally a very well rounded person. Yes, she can be a little naive and manipulating at times, but I personally find this adds to her appeal. Makes her more human. I also find her relationships with the other characters very real and relatable. Particularly those with the Prince’s.
When I first started this book I was convinced that the plot was going to be very predictable and east to interpret, but I was very wrong. I honestly didn’t successfully guess a single plot twist. I was enthralled by this book. Everything about it was perfect. I have only one criticism of it, and that’s the suggested love square surrounding Mare. I won’t say too much about this as I don’t want to spoil the book for anyone, but I found this to be a little unnecessary. But, even with this, i can understand exactly why this book has had such amazing reviews. I would highly recommend it. I cannot wait for the next one. Red Queen is well worth a read.
image

image

Leave a Reply

